View Full Version : CONVERSION: Need some help with a new SIEG SX2 Plus CNC Conversion

24-08-2014, 06:47 PM
Hi fellas,

Just joined here to get some guidance on if I can convert my machine to full CNC.

Here are some pictures of what I


This is the machine with the big machine table. I've seen some of the fantastic work by members here and I have not seen the same machine as mine modded.

I've used a mill for over 500 hours and I've trained on 3 Axis Machines manually coding. No CAM.

I have CAD CAM on SolidWorks but I'm not sure if my machine will accept that kind of CAM.

I've got a copy of Mach 3 too.

Thanks for your help.


24-08-2014, 11:36 PM
I've got a copy of Mach 3 too.

Shhhhhhh you do mean genuine version of Mach3 and not Copy don't you.!!! . .:dejection:

Can't see any reason why this can't be CNC'd but the Z axis will need some attention due to being rack driven. Think you'd be wanting to devise some brackets for a ballscrew setup. Don't think the rack will accurate enough to be any use for CNC.

Regards CAM then provided the CAM software as a Mach3 post processor to output G-code file in format Mach3 understands then doesn't matter what machine it is.
Also Mach3 doesn't care what machine your using it just translates g-code commands produced by CAM into signals that go to drives that control motors along with monitoring incoming signals for things like Limits and safety. It also controls output signals for turning things on/off or controlling other external devices.

24-08-2014, 11:46 PM
Yes i got a Gen version.

Doesn't the x2 use the same z as my machine. Just mine doesn't tilt it is stationary. My main concern is the XY brackets for the CNC ball screw. I don't know where to get the brackets from or if so how to make them. The ball screw has got to be a very good fit ! Do they make a Tap ?

So in Mach 3 there is a CAM ? I don't understand.

25-08-2014, 12:19 AM
So in Mach 3 there is a CAM ? I don't understand.

No Mach3 is just Motion control software, it does nothing but control the movement of the machine based upon commands it recieves from G-code files. It does this by sending electrical pulses to drives that control motors. It does other things beside like turning things on or off but won't go deeper or confuse any further.!

Let me explain the process better. It goes like this.! (excuse if you know already)
Parts are created in CAD which then go into CAM software. Inside CAM you create toolpaths that define how the part is to be machined. Ie Geometry to follow, cutting Depths, tools and speeds to use for that process.
This then goes thru a process within CAM called Post processing. This is where the Toolpaths are setout in a format that the Motion control software understands.
Now machines can have many differant control systems, even on same make of machine. So for CAM to know how to format for each control software it uses a file called a post processor that sets out how it should create the G-code file so that particular control software can read it. These post processors will often come with the CAM software but if not or the Machines control system is Old then you will need to make one or ask the CAM company for one.

Now Mach3 isn't too fussy and use's the basic Fanuc G-code standard and most CAM software will have a generic post processor so this often works with mach or can be modified to make work.
Also most common CAM software will have a dedicated Mach3 post processor or someone will have made one for it.

If I've just confussed you more just ask again and I'll try harder not to fry your brain. . Lol

25-08-2014, 12:22 AM
Ahhhhhhhhhhh I've been doing some fiddling and found out how to use it.

25-08-2014, 12:30 AM
http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/AP%20Projects/ScreenShot2014-08-25at002327_zpsdaf413b2.png (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/AP%20Projects/ScreenShot2014-08-25at002327_zpsdaf413b2.png.html)
http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/AP%20Projects/ScreenShot2014-08-25at002338_zps1cb0336a.png (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/AP%20Projects/ScreenShot2014-08-25at002338_zps1cb0336a.png.html)
http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/AP%20Projects/ScreenShot2014-08-22at212624_zps0e5dd86c.png (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/AP%20Projects/ScreenShot2014-08-22at212624_zps0e5dd86c.png.html)
http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/AP%20Projects/ScreenShot2014-08-25at002411_zps4579de8c.png (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/AP%20Projects/ScreenShot2014-08-25at002411_zps4579de8c.png.html)

All i need now are the motors, drivers, ball screws and ball screw brackets.

Any advice on this part ?

Cheers fellas,

25-08-2014, 12:42 AM
Great your sorted with the CAM side then and often that's the hard part so your off to a good start.

Sorry can't help with where to go for dedicated parts for this mill but for Motors and drives etc then Gary at Zapp is good start.
Ballscrews will depend on diameter size and pitch your wanting. To be honest I think your biggest problem will be getting ballscrews to fit and Big chance your going to need to modifie the base or bed in some way to make room. Unfortunatly I've no experience with these small mills so can't help here.!

Clive S
25-08-2014, 08:45 AM
All i need now are the motors, drivers, ball screws and ball screw brackets.
Any advice on this part ?

If you do a search on here there has been a few conversions done. This company makes a kit:- http://www.cncfusion.com/minimill1.html Also there is a thread here :-http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/4524-Sieg-SX2-Plus-build/page4. .. Clive

25-08-2014, 09:10 AM
i picked up a used clone a few weeks ago to do basic jobs but have done quite a bit of research on them all. It looks like you have the one with the upgraded spindle motor and a belt drive up grade which i think is the first mod people do. The good thing about yours is the fixed base as this is a little more solid than the adjustable one however a lot of people seam to go for building a hole new steel frame to bolt the base and the column to to get it even more stable. there is a good thread here about it and is what i plan to do

http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/showthread.php?t=7479 (http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/showthread.php?t=7479)

youtube has lots of cnc conversions and as mentioned there is a kit from cnc fusion which uses ball screws all round. Again i have been looking into ball screws but ideally you want one with a small ball nut which i have not found yet.

another common mod is to use ether a gas strut or counter weight on the z axis.

25-08-2014, 01:15 PM
Stripping it down ATM


25-08-2014, 03:25 PM
Ive lapped the slide ways in and lock tighter the gib screws in place but when the slide way reaches a certain point it starts to jam. Not sure what this is. Also i would like to adjust the Z because when you use the fine adjustment and then touch the drilling handle it drops 2-3 mm which causes damage to the work you are doing. Little annoying and would like to sort it before going CNC.

27-08-2014, 08:20 PM
This bloody machine is driving me CRAZY !!!! Everything is falling out of place ! The spindle is 0.3 out some how and the table rocks like hell!! I need some help fellas.

02-09-2014, 07:42 PM
Ok panic avoided, the machine has gone back to Arceuro and I've got a refund. Not what I'm looking for what so ever. it is too flimsy and cheap for my uses. I would have liked to make something on it but it incapable of even drilling a hole.

Ive ordered a new AMA25LV which is a far more substantial machine. IT will be delivered soon but it weighs over 2 times what the siege does so it will be a monster to shift!! IT will accept CNC easily too which is always good.

http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/AP%20Projects/C9bWlQCGkKGrHqJlQEz3tgWJ4BNFhHdsFfQ_35_zps635fb9e3 .jpg (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/AP%20Projects/C9bWlQCGkKGrHqJlQEz3tgWJ4BNFhHdsFfQ_35_zps635fb9e3 .jpg.html)

14-09-2014, 05:44 PM
New machine arrives tomorrow and I'll update the forum when I have shifted it out the crate :D

Just cleared all this shit out the garage :)

The machine is going on this solid oak table so it will not move an inch !!


The gray table is no more :) sledge hammer + crowbar = flat, ahahahahahaahhahahaha

14-09-2014, 11:13 PM
The machine is going on this solid oak table so it will not move an inch !!

You'll be surprised how much a supposedly solid table does move when a CNC'd table changes direction at speed![emoji4]

15-09-2014, 09:19 AM
Tie your bench to the wall with a couple of heavy angle brackets, two hammer fixings in the wall, one for each bracket, should keep the table from jiggling too much,

- Nick

15-09-2014, 09:52 AM
Yes I've jammed the table into a corner too. I now need to think about where I'm going to hide all of the electrics. I would like to use black flexible trunking like the real CNC machines use in industry. Some nice tidy holes in the table so all the electrics are completely out of the way. I will then plaster board the walls and hide the wires that go up to a tv screen with a keyboard and mouse coming out of the wall on a pivot hinge !

It's all coming together now ! The machine is now in the garage but I'm at work now so I'll un-box it around 4:15 :D this thing weights a ton !

15-09-2014, 09:52 AM
What it needs is some diagonal x-bracing... and being tied to the wall...

15-09-2014, 09:54 AM
Yes, I plan on supporting the under neath too with a triangle cross member. I'll support the back with two right angle brackets that bolt to the under side out of sight.

16-09-2014, 09:28 PM
Just got a final design for the chip guards, i machined something aggressively today and it held up extremely well ! but the chips are EVERů
http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/ScreenShot2014-09-16at211837_zpse2be9497.png (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/ScreenShot2014-09-16at211837_zpse2be9497.png.html)
http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/ScreenShot2014-09-16at211807_zps9d42e327.png (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/ScreenShot2014-09-16at211807_zps9d42e327.png.html)
http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/ScreenShot2014-09-16at211818_zps946df43b.png (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/ScreenShot2014-09-16at211818_zps946df43b.png.html)
http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww290/Ianbrowning13/ScreenShot2014-09-16at211758_zps5a04dd06.png (http://s728.photobucket.com/user/Ianbrowning13/media/ScreenShot2014-09-16at211758_zps5a04dd06.png.html)

16-09-2014, 09:29 PM
Just got to make some brackets to secure the table and boards, what is best to prevent the chips building up on the machine ? I thought of a cylinder vacuum cleaner on a small arm by the tool but if using the face mill the chips will fly off in every direction.

17-09-2014, 08:38 AM
If you're not using flood coolant then vacuum can help - if the pickup nozzle is well designed and placed, compressed air clears chips in deeper holes, and combination of the two can sometimes be really useful,

- Nick

17-09-2014, 01:00 PM
Yes I plan on using a Fog buster that blasts a slight bit of oil onto the tool so it lubricates it. It doesn't do an effective job of cooling the tool down however. I need to think of that too.