PDA

View Full Version : BUILD LOG: Router/Plasma CNC Build From Down Under

Tinkerer
29-09-2014, 12:17 PM
G'day Everyone!

My name is Richard and I live in Melbourne Australia. I have very much enjoyed reading the various threads on building DIY machines and probably like many on this forum have found and very much enjoyed the learning curve in getting to understand the issues and parameters in building a CNC machine. Unlike many on this site, I have limited experience in building machines, but I am quite a handy person and accustomed to getting my hands dirty on DIY projects. I am waiting for delivery of my TIG / Stick Welder, so my practical learning curve will start with improving my welding skills. Meanwhile I've been on a steep learning curve getting familiar with Rhino as a CAD drawing package (also to be used in designing Kinetic Artwork).

I have created this thread hoping that those more experienced will be able to guide me on my build. So here goes....

1. My Machine Parameters

I plan to build a CNC Router, with the flexibility to use it for Plasma or Laser cutting of steel. It is intended to be a general purpose machine with a high degree of accuracy (if I'm going to the trouble of building something bespoke, then it may as well be accurate).

The main material I will be cutting is timber (plywood up to 25mm thick) and some aluminium (aluminum) to create Kinetic Artwork (wall art etc).

It will initially be a three axis machine, but I intend to build in capability to expand to a 4th axis to turn table legs, carving etc. If I honest with myself, I suggest that the challenge (and resultant satisfaction and no doubt accompanying frustration) of the build outweigh practical applications.

The general parameters of the machine are:

1.1 Working Area

X Axis - 1.5m
Y Axis - 1.25m
Z Axis - capable of 220mm travel, but anticipated generally working to 154mm