PDA

View Full Version : BUILD LOG: Need expert guidance on rookie DIY build.

Steeki
06-10-2014, 12:39 PM
Hey guys, this is my first post so firstly I would like to say how happy I am at stumbling across such a well put together forum.

I am an absolute rookie in the field of cnc machining. However I have a big appetite for learning new things, so I will try doing as much of my own research as possible in between reading of your replies.

Basically I have a scenario where I would need to build my own cnc milling machine with selective requirements.

These are the requirements of the machined product:

- The slot will be 12mm diameter, with varying lengths.
- The material will be 5mm thick mild steel with a varying O.D. of 48mm to 114mm CHS.
- The length of material will be in the range of 1400mm to 3000mm.

The requirements of the machine so far will be:

- able to cut 5mm thick mild steel
- able to rotate along A axis of 0-359? degrees.
- able to work on material diameters of 48 OD chs to 114 OD chs
- able to work on material lengths of 1000mm to 3000mm.
- 3 axis (X,Z,A) (note: I will not need Y axis as I plan to keep the cutting tool centralised above the CHS at all times and let the X axis and rotational A axis do all the movement. the Z axis is simply for varying material diameters and for the cutting depth.)
- Would need to be cost effective.
- would need to be reliable. (the intention is to machine hundreds of these parts so reliability is a major factor)
- and finally, accuracy could be +/- 1mm.

I hope I have supplied enough information for the time being.

I look forward to, and appreciate any replies on this matter.

Many thanks in advance.

Steeki.

irving2008
07-10-2014, 06:27 AM
Interesting requirements. Any chance of explaining the purpose of these parts, especially given the low accuracy requirement.

Some clarifications please:
1. Is the slot axial or radial to the CHS, or continuous in both e.g a spiral?