PDA

View Full Version : Anyone in Surrey willing to convert --- Boxford mill to mach 3



Gasgasbones
17-10-2014, 12:06 PM
a Boxford VMC 190 to Mach 3 for me.
I simply havent got a clue with electrics and electronics !!

Cash job :adoration:

Please let me know.

Thank you

Carl

EddyCurrent
17-10-2014, 09:26 PM
Is this any use ?

http://www.cooperman.talktalk.net/files/14.htm

JAZZCNC
18-10-2014, 12:07 PM
We can help you do this no problem. It's not rocket science or even electronics, it's mostly just wiring and with the right kit it's easy done.
You'll also benifit from knowing your machine electronics intimatly if a fault should ever arise and you'll be working again quicker and cheaper.

Does the VMC have auto toolchanger.?

Gasgasbones
18-10-2014, 12:13 PM
Great stuff, thank you.

Nope, no tool changer at all.

Im happy giving it a go but im totally new to this so I dont know what to order, where to order from, how it all fits etc !

Carl


We can help you do this no problem. It's not rocket science or even electronics, it's mostly just wiring and with the right kit it's easy done.
You'll also benifit from knowing your machine electronics intimatly if a fault should ever arise and you'll be working again quicker and cheaper.

Does the VMC have auto toolchanger.?

Gasgasbones
18-10-2014, 12:19 PM
Cheer Eddie

I like the guys set up. Id like mine to end up like that i think !


Is this any use ?

http://www.cooperman.talktalk.net/files/14.htm

JAZZCNC
18-10-2014, 12:22 PM
One step at a time. First lets find out exactly what's making it tick now then we know what you need or don't need.?
Can you take some good quality pictures of the inside of the electrical cabinet and also the motors etc. Try to spot any labels or manufacturer details etc.

With a little luck you may only need to change a few parts to be working under Mach3 control.

Gasgasbones
18-10-2014, 12:38 PM
Pictures added

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4463.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4463.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4464.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4464.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4466.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4466.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4465.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4465.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4467.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4467.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4468.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4468.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4469.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4469.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4470.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4470.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4471.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4471.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4472.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4472.jpg.html)







One step at a time. First lets find out exactly what's making it tick now then we know what you need or don't need.?
Can you take some good quality pictures of the inside of the electrical cabinet and also the motors etc. Try to spot any labels or manufacturer details etc.

With a little luck you may only need to change a few parts to be working under Mach3 control.

Gasgasbones
18-10-2014, 12:50 PM
Please let me know if you need anything more specific

http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/IMAG0371.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/IMAG0371.jpg.html)



http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4475.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4475.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4474.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4474.jpg.html)
http://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae44/ggbones/GGB_4473.jpg (http://s956.photobucket.com/user/ggbones/media/GGB_4473.jpg.html)

JAZZCNC
18-10-2014, 03:32 PM
Ok leave me with this to digest a little as i've never done one of these and I'll find out what's what and I'll come back. Got a handle on most of what's in there but not sure about a couple things.?

i2i is the man for these so would be helpful if he popped along.

If anyone knows what the Small green board next to Blue Cap does then speak up.!

Also whats on the front of the machine regards controls etc and what's being controlled externally IE: coolant, air etc because there a few relays in there so they must be switching something on/off.

Can you take a closer and clear picture of the circuit board with 3 black heat sinks on. This will be the driver board I would think. The one under it will be the controller which talked to the BBC computer which will be replaced with a new board running Mach3.

The white box is spindle speed controller and we will reuse this and control from the breakout board with spindle control built in.

The rest of the stuff Transformer etc will be re-used.

IanS1
18-10-2014, 04:26 PM
Is it some sort of I/O board? The Dallas Speed chip seems to point in that direction.

http://www.keil.com/dd/chip/2975.htm

.
And it looks like the ribbon cable from it goes to the controller board

EddyCurrent
18-10-2014, 04:55 PM
Check this out

http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/7750-Advice-Needed-Converting-a-Boxford-VMC-190

seems like the board is, "3rd axis microprocessor board".
It does have a microprocessor and eprom on there and also the leds are marked, ATTENTION, LIMIT PLUS, LIMIT MINUS

JAZZCNC
18-10-2014, 05:17 PM
Is it some sort of I/O board? The Dallas Speed chip seems to point in that direction.

http://www.keil.com/dd/chip/2975.htm

.
And it looks like the ribbon cable from it goes to the controller board

Thanks Ian that's what I thought it might be but it's not an issue now after speaking with Carl I think he's going for a full retrofit except spindle controller.

i2i
19-10-2014, 11:25 PM
hello, yes it's a pretty easy conversion and you can get by with very little alteration or go the whole hog and upgrade the guts.

Carl (gasgasbones) i'll pm you my mobile number if you want a chat about it.