PDA

View Full Version : Lathe Indexing Tools

T0rnado69
26-10-2014, 01:31 AM
hi am,
im looking at getting an index tool for the lathe.

but dont know what one would be best to get.

im currently using brazed TCT tools, and its a pain having to put them
in for sharperning and they do a week turn around, plus the cost and
travel cost to drop them off and collect them a week later.

so my thought is getting an indexing tool means i can change the tip when needed.
and looking at the tips is it correct you can turn them around and use other end.
and also some have three points.

so has anyone got any pointers on best one to get and why..

cheers all

mekanik
26-10-2014, 10:00 AM
Hi
Chronos have a pretty good selection.
http://www.chronos.ltd.uk/cgi-bin/sh000001.pl?WD=lathe%20index%20tool&PN=glanze_lathe_tools.html#aCG214
I was fortunate enough to aquire a good selection of the triangular tips when i worked as a Turner and made two holders to suit my Elliot Emcomat years ago, but to be honest i hardly use them and tend to stick with HSS 10mm square bits, you obviously are doing serious work so it's probably worth the investment, tips can be a bit pricey but convenience is priceless.
Mike

Neale
26-10-2014, 10:33 AM
JB Cutting Tools sell some decent looking lathe tools and tips in various sizes. Worth a look. HSS has the advantage of being easy to touch up yourself but the indexable tips are nice to use.

irving2008
26-10-2014, 05:58 PM
Or get a bench grinder and learn to sharpen them yourself ;)

magicniner
26-10-2014, 06:58 PM
Green stones on a bench grinder don't produce the edge ideal finish on a carbide cutter but I did it this way for a couple of years, manually finishing tips with a diamond hone.