PDA

View Full Version : Chinese tooling

racerbear02
27-10-2014, 05:42 PM
Another newbie question, I do apologise.

There are any number of 'cheap' carbide tools available from a huge range of suppliers.in China.

I am looking for tools for woodwork / carving / signmaking in plywood and hardwoods..

I am aware that you should always buy the best available, but at these prices, are the tools any good at all? worth getting,
or not?? bearing in mind I am a total novice to CNC routing and will probably end up breaking some due to inexperience.

I would appreciate actual experience replies as opposed to the general 'well I wouldn't do it' type if possible.

Thank in advance.

EddyCurrent
27-10-2014, 06:30 PM
I use both cheap and expensive bits, cheap for roughing cuts or parts that don't need a great finish, then better quality cutters for finishing cuts or special cuts such as V carving, down spiral, etc.
cheap; http://www.toolstation.com/shop/Power+Tool+Accessories/d80/Router+Bits/sd2579/Router+Bit+Straight+1+4+3+x+12mm/p67412
better quality; http://www.wealdentool.com/acatalog/Online_Catalogue_Engraving_60_degree_719.html

As yet I've not bought any from China but I probably wil be trying some of the smaller ones like 1mm and smaller ball ended type, some time soon. If you search this forum there are a few 'preferred' sellers to look out for.

racerbear02
30-10-2014, 10:13 PM
Thanks for the feedback. anyone actually used the tooling from China?, I guess most of the cheap stuff in the UK on fleabay is sourced their anyway.

A secondary question, I am intending to cut out birch plywood parts in sicknesses ranging from 4mm to 24mm, would a compression bit be the best thing to use to avoid tearing of the top and bottom layers? or is that not really needed?

Thanks again in advance.

paulus.v
31-10-2014, 10:16 AM
I had the same question a few days ago and I've already ordered some of the cheapest Chinese bits on ebay. For the price I think it's worth trying them.