View Full Version : G53 movement

04-02-2015, 11:23 PM
Should the G53 be before or after a G00 or G01 command ?

LinuxCNC has it before:

"For example G53 G0 X0 Y0 Z0 will move the axes to the home position even if the currently selected coordinate system has offsets in effect."

Mach 3 has it after:

"For linear motion to a point expressed in absolute coordinates, program G1 G53 X~ Y~ Z~ A~ B~ C~ (or similarly with G0 instead of G1),"

After makes more sense, as both say it has to have G00 or G01 "active" to work.

Off to the workshop to try it.


05-02-2015, 01:29 PM
I just tried it with Mach3 and it works either way round. I only tried with G0

05-02-2015, 04:37 PM
I think that it comes down to whatever the motion control software accepts! However, it does seem that gcode is a bit flexible about this kind of thing. For example, you can put the coordinates in in any order, and I have a feeling that the G53 can be anywhere on the line. From memory, I think I use G0 G53 X~ Y~ because that seems logical to me, but I don't think it matters. That's all true for Mach3 and LinuxCNC, anyway, but some of the proprietary motion control systems might have their own interpretation.

05-02-2015, 06:58 PM
Thanks both, I'll try my program the other way round and see if it makes any difference.

There are other things at play, so this might be a red herring.