PDA

View Full Version : What gauge wire for motors and drivers etc?



glynster
28-02-2015, 01:43 PM
Being brand new to all of this, can somebody tell me what kind of wiring I should be buying for wiring up my steppers, drivers, limit switches etc?

I understand I will want a range of colours but will standard 3amp 7/0.2 equipment wire be OK? Or do i need something special and, if so, can you suggest where I might find it online, thanks.

Glyn

JAZZCNC
28-02-2015, 03:39 PM
You need screened wire for the steppers and E-stop, limit switches. You need 4 core 1.5mm/2 CY cable for the Steppers and depending on limit switch type 2 or 3 core 0.5 or 0.75mm/2 for limits etc.

You'll find what you need here http://www.csecables.com/acatalog/CY-Cable.html

With the shield you only connect one end often the end in control box to ground. Grounding is very important when wiring control box. You want just one Ground point and then take every other ground connection back to this point, this is called star grounding and if you don't do it this way your open to all sorts of strange happening so pay careful attention to the grounding.

Noplace
28-02-2015, 05:08 PM
Hey Jazz, are you saying that I should connect the shielding of my stepper motor->driver cables to the ground point? I would appreciate if you can show some photos, many thanks!

JAZZCNC
28-02-2015, 06:10 PM
Hey Jazz, are you saying that I should connect the shielding of my stepper motor->driver cables to the ground point? I would appreciate if you can show some photos, many thanks!

Yes that's exactly what I'm saying and I can't show you photos of one installed in control box but can show pic of how it's done, it's not rocket science.

Just solder Separate wire to shield, fold back and put shrink wrap over then run wire back to Ground point.

14744 14745

glynster
28-02-2015, 06:48 PM
Great, thanks for the info Jazz. I've had trouble finding single core shielded wire though. CSE cables looks a good resource.

JAZZCNC
28-02-2015, 07:19 PM
Great, thanks for the info Jazz. I've had trouble finding single core shielded wire though. CSE cables looks a good resource.

Why would you want single core shielded.?

You only need shielded cable on signal cables, So stepper wires and any wire going to Inputs, Ie Limits, e-stop.

Try to keep cables carrying power away from Signal cables to avoid noise interference. Obviously There places where you can't but try keep any crossing or running along side signal wires to a minimum. Don't Tie wrap power and signal wires together.

Noplace
01-03-2015, 04:06 AM
Yes that's exactly what I'm saying and I can't show you photos of one installed in control box but can show pic of how it's done, it's not rocket science.

Just solder Separate wire to shield, fold back and put shrink wrap over then run wire back to Ground point.

http://www.mycncuk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=14744&stc=1 http://www.mycncuk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=14745&stc=1

Thanks Jazz thats very clear and as I expected, however few more questions if I may:

- What to do in case of using connectors for example like this one http://www.automationtechnologiesinc.com/products-page/cnc-controller-box/motor-cable-with-connector-12 where drivers are connected to patch cable with this connector?
do I ground the patch cable only? the shield on the long cable to motor would be left as is in that case.

- With that cable in your photos how are able to distinguish the 3 black wires from each other??

thanks!

njhussey
01-03-2015, 08:17 AM
Cables normally have numbers printed on them. If not get a multimeter and do a continuity test on them...

JAZZCNC
01-03-2015, 12:40 PM
Thanks Jazz thats very clear and as I expected, however few more questions if I may:

- What to do in case of using connectors for example like this one http://www.automationtechnologiesinc.com/products-page/cnc-controller-box/motor-cable-with-connector-12 where drivers are connected to patch cable with this connector?
do I ground the patch cable only? the shield on the long cable to motor would be left as is in that case.

- With that cable in your photos how are able to distinguish the 3 black wires from each other??

thanks!

Same idea because the 4 pin connector is not used at the Drive end. To keep shield continuity the Connector will probably have a shield connection point. If not then create your own by soldering or trapping shield on the connector body.

The Black wires have numbers printed on them you just can't see them in pics. But for safety and piece of mind it's also a good idea to check continuity as you go along like neil says as it's very easy to get wire in wrong place, even with coloured wires your eyes go wonky when it starts looking like spagetti.!!