PDA

View Full Version : 5v power suply



universally
30-03-2015, 09:12 PM
hi all im back again, might seem a bit dumb of me but what would be the best way to get the 5v supply to the breakout board and drivers, i currently have a 5v supply from usb split to 1 b/board and 3 stepper drivers, would this be ok or can u recommend a better way. also i have done a basic mach setup and trial and all i can get the motors to do is turn about half a turn a min evan if i turn up all the velocity etc, im guessing i have done something wrong, please help

routercnc
30-03-2015, 10:38 PM
hi all im back again, might seem a bit dumb of me but what would be the best way to get the 5v supply to the breakout board and drivers, i currently have a 5v supply from usb split to 1 b/board and 3 stepper drivers, would this be ok or can u recommend a better way. also i have done a basic mach setup and trial and all i can get the motors to do is turn about half a turn a min evan if i turn up all the velocity etc, im guessing i have done something wrong, please help

Whilst I think that splitting the USB output to the BOB and drivers should be OK, when I did that on my machine I measured around 4V out of the USB which seemed a bit low. So to give it all the best chance of working I found a 5V supply on one of the cables in the PC (check some of the spare white molex plugs coming out of the power supply with a voltmeter to find one) and made up a lead to the BoB and drivers.

The other way to do it if you don't mind a bit of mains wiring is to use a switched mode power supply like this inside your control box:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mean-Well-MW-5V-3A-15W-AC-DC-Switching-Power-Supply-PSU-/221298952438?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item33867208f6#ht_5621wt_986

As for the speed post a picture of the stepper and driver wiring - sounds like something is not right there. Unless you are in 'step mode' in Mach3? Press the tab key and look at the settings for the MPG -should be 'constant'. For reasons I have never got to the bottom of my Mach3 always starts in 'step' mode and I have to change it to 'constant'.

universally
30-03-2015, 11:14 PM
thanks for the reply, yes i think im going to invest in the power supply from the link :) i think ive either got wiring issues or mach3 setup issues, there is i long starting delay (upto 5 seconds) when jogging (counters are going up but no motor movement initially) and motors run on a couple of seconds after, they dont seem to be smooth in motion, i will try and post pics tommoz as i have only done a test wiring, cables are not neat or in a box

JAZZCNC
31-03-2015, 01:56 AM
Yes get your self 5vdc supply ASAP don't Trust USB for providing power to anything requiring constant supply like BOB or Drives it's not stable enough and prone to dropping out.

Where abouts are you in sheffield area.?

universally
31-03-2015, 09:05 AM
hi jazz, yes ill pic something up today, im near to worksop, not far off jct 30

JAZZCNC
31-03-2015, 10:47 PM
hi jazz, yes ill pic something up today, im near to worksop, not far off jct 30

Ok well if your still having trouble and can't sort it then let me know and we'll see about coming over as your not million miles away.

universally
31-03-2015, 10:47 PM
hi all, i purchased a 5v supply and have it hooked up, its still taking mach 3 well over a min to turn 1 revolution if it bothers to turn at all and has a 8 second delay befor it starts, ive watched numerous videos on the wiring and mach config but its not changing a thing

universally
31-03-2015, 10:49 PM
thanks jazz i might have to take you up on the offer, id be more than willing to pay for travel and time :)

JAZZCNC
31-03-2015, 10:53 PM
thanks jazz i might have to take you up on the offer, id be more than willing to pay for travel and time :)

I'll PM you my number call me and we'll sort you out one way or the other. Most likely i'll get you going just over the phone but if not then can arrange a visit.

universally
31-03-2015, 11:05 PM
http://www.mycncuk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=15043&stc=1http://www.mycncuk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=15044&stc=1http://www.mycncuk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=15045&stc=1http://www.mycncuk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=15046&stc=1

JAZZCNC
31-03-2015, 11:14 PM
Do you have manual for BOB or link to where you got it.?

universally
31-03-2015, 11:18 PM
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/301420943755?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
this is the kit i purchased, all details are on the listing

universally
31-03-2015, 11:20 PM
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/201173835060?_trksid=p2059210.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
sorry its this 1

routercnc
31-03-2015, 11:34 PM
I have this BOB and have just wired it up. Sorry, don't have a photo. Its a DB25-1205. Came free with DQ860MA drivers from Wantai.

5V power on the RH side, step and direction along the bottom, and inputs such as e-stop, limits on the LH side

Wiring is:
15049

Here is Wal's set up:
15050

universally
01-04-2015, 07:47 AM
great news :] i wired the motors the correct way round (still did not work)
i added enable- wires to the BoB and set pins 1,16, and 17 as the enable- (still did not work)
then i turned on step low active and it worked :) it looks and sounds good to me :)
the only problem i have is that when i tested all 3 motors at once one started to lag, as though there is not enough power for all 3 to be on full motion at the same time, does this sound familiar or maybe something needs tweaking ?