View Full Version : Fitting HD 16 instead of MGD 16

27-04-2015, 03:57 PM
Hey guys, need your help a little. unfortunately something I didn't account for is the small difference in diameter between HD 16 and MGD 16 which is forcing me to use MGD on my Z and Y (gantry) axis and was hoping I would avoid it atleast for the Z.
would you think its okay to just increase the diameter a bit of one of my HD 16 brackets until it fits or should I adjust for the MGD? I was thinking of filing it until it would fit.


27-04-2015, 06:44 PM
Give us a clue whats HD16 and MGD 16.?

Boyan Silyavski
27-04-2015, 06:58 PM
it must be that http://www.zappautomation.co.uk/mechanical-products/ball-nut-brackets/mgd16-ballnut-bracket.html, the other one may be is the open variant.

I suspect you dont have the precise means to open diameters so go for filing it with the digital caliper at the other hand, constantly checking

27-04-2015, 07:17 PM
My apologies for not explaining, as Silyavski mentioned that is the MGD16 and the other one is this http://www.automation4less.com/store/proddetail.asp?prod=HD16 and if you notice there is a .4mm difference in diameter causing the issue since the ballscrew I got for my Z and Y are from taiwan and support MGD size only, I find it kind of big for Z but I think I will do the design adjustment anyway.

Web Goblin
28-04-2015, 06:20 AM
Since the diameter of the hole is not too critical why not just run a 28.5 or 29mm drill through it? It doesnt need to be a tight fit.

28-04-2015, 09:08 AM
Actually, it can be critical depending on how you arrange the ballscrews and mounts. The ID of the screw mount should have a pretty tight tolerance to match the ground outer diameter of the ballnut.