View Full Version : using 250V 10A power coord for VFD 2.2kw

13-05-2015, 07:11 PM
Hi everyone, In my setup I'm planning on hooking a standard power coord to my VFD, the only concern is that the copper diameter is not as much as I'd like it to be, but this is a standard coord same as ones used for PCs and Workstations. and judging by its rating it should deliver enough power for the VFD, even though the copper core is not that thick, the wires strip by the AWG 16

is it alright to use this?


13-05-2015, 11:10 PM
You VFD documentation will probably tell you the current draw of the VFD. Some even suggest the cable size.

My 2.2kW states that it may draw up to 20 amps. Especially during motor startup.

May I suggest you get an electrician to help you set it up? You should not really just plug it into the wall without making sure that the wall socket you are using is ok for the currents you are going to be seeing. It is a fire hazard otherwise.

14-05-2015, 09:06 AM
The ends for such cables are available separately, I'd go for the option of building your own cable, that way you can have manufacturer's specifications for all the components you use,

- Nick

Boyan Silyavski
14-05-2015, 01:08 PM
Its alright, however for many future reasons IMO its best to use steel shielded cable /CY/ from grid to VFD and from VFD to spindle.