PDA

View Full Version : Get machine status from wifi CNC machinery



Crazycreative
30-07-2015, 05:48 PM
Hi all,

can one receive the machines status (running / not running) from the machines on our shopfloor?

We currently have wifi connectivity to all machines - the programs are sent to them in this way.

The Engineer here is refusing to co-operate in any way, shape or form and will not allow access to the file server involved.

Any help for this noob will be much appreciated!

Thanks,

CC

Boyan Silyavski
31-07-2015, 12:12 AM
What is the name and model of the machine? Wifi goes now to the computer controlling the machine or the machine controller itself?

Finding the machine model number and then manual on google will answer all your questions.

Clive S
31-07-2015, 08:38 AM
Hi all,

can one receive the machines status (running / not running) from the machines on our shopfloor?

We currently have wifi connectivity to all machines - the programs are sent to them in this way.

The Engineer here is refusing to co-operate in any way, shape or form and will not allow access to the file server involved.

Any help for this noob will be much appreciated!

Thanks,

CCThe way I see it is that if the engineer is responsible for the machines and server he would certainly not let any body have access to it. Just think of the damage that it could be done and possibly also the safety aspect.

njhussey
31-07-2015, 09:50 AM
The way I see it is that if the engineer is responsible for the machines and server he would certainly not let any body have access to it. Just think of the damage that it could be done and possibly also the safety aspect.

+1 on that. The file server will probably be password protected and the machines will have a WIFI/WEP or whatever protocol password. I'd think theres at least couple of reasons you're not allowed to access the programs, 1) To stop you messing with the programs/drawings etc. and messing up a whole production run. 2) He's not telling you so he can keep the knowledge to himself and so be the only one who knows everything...his own little empire....

What's the comment "an MD who is too busy to see the truth" in your other post about?

Why do you need to access the server and machines?

magicniner
31-07-2015, 10:00 AM
It isn't the engineer that's denying you access, it's your company which isn't providing you with the authorisation to access the resources required ;-)

If this is part of an official project then the next progress meeting/report will identify what is required to progress it, your manager will talk to the engineer's manager or they'll both talk to their manager and you'll get the access you require, if that's deemed to be of use to the company.
Simples!

- Nick