PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: New to all this

jmh474
08-09-2015, 11:06 PM
Hi all I'm new to all this, and I'm wanting to build a CNC machine, based on the tb6560 driver board, I'm hoping someone can point me in a good place to start I'm hoping to mill wood, the first thing I want to make is a some personal for my daughter, as she passed away 3 years ago and I want to make something special for her and help would be grate eg threds I should read or projects I could clone, I will say I'm not the most well off person, I seen a lot of old printer motors used could this be a good idea or a no no, I'm hoping to stay around the 12v side of thing as I have a few old PC power supplys sand they are a good amp rating so thanks for any help and advice.

njhussey
09-09-2015, 02:53 PM
Hi, welcome to the forum!

I'm not sure you'll find much information on this site for TB6560 builds as most people on here are building larger routers and these control boards don't have the best reputation. Shame really for you, I just sold a TB6560 board, 24V PSU and 3 steppers on fleabay for £40 a couple of weeks ago after having it for the last 5 years sitting in a box. Running things at 12V will give you no speed, conversley you don't want to run the TB6560 at any more than 24V or else the dreaded magic smoke comes out.

To be honest you'll be best off buying a cheap 3020 Chinese CNC router off ebay...

jmh474
09-09-2015, 03:28 PM
Not really worried about speed, its more of a case of just a little project more than anything would it be better to step up to 24v then??
Just my luck that is, maybe if I'm lucky I'll get an offer fingers crossed

JAZZCNC
09-09-2015, 03:56 PM
Not wanting to put you off but don't go the TB6560 route if at all possible. Forget Printer/scanner steppers for anything other than 3d printer they just haven't got enough guts.