PDA

View Full Version : Getting tear-out - need advice

Rye
24-10-2015, 05:07 PM
Hey all,

I'm new to CNC and need some advice on ways to avoid or limit tear-out. I'm using a Chinese CNC6040 with a 1.5k spindle and two end-mill bits that came with the machine: 6mm and a 3mm to carve a couple of name plaques on a few scrap planks of softwood(I don't want to be using any expensive material yet as I'm a complete noob.)

On my first attempt, using the pocket toolpath in vcarve, I used offset and conventional. This came out reasonable well but left very noticeable tool marks on the base of the pocket and quite a bit of tear-out around the lettering. My second attempt, using raster and climb(upcut), came out much better. It had fewer tool marks and less tear-out - although it did leave a little more fuzz.

I expect a few problems like this when using softwood, but what advice would you give to help limit the tear-out. And what spindle speeds, feed rate and cut-depth would you recommend (the pocket is only 5mm deep. I used 3 passes with the last being 0.3mm.)

Cheers,
Rye

Christian Knuell
25-10-2015, 06:01 PM
Hi,

came out reasonable well but left very noticeable tool marks on the base of the pocket

marks at the bottom are usually caused by misalignment of the spindle (not exactly perpendicular to the machine base).

but what advice would you give to help limit the tear-out.

If wood tears out the tool is usually just not sharp enough. Tools desinged to cut steel for examle are dull by design in comparison to tools made for wood or plastics. There are also large differences between cheap and high quality tools.

Christian

Rye
26-10-2015, 04:24 PM
Hi mate,