PDA

View Full Version : 1.5 kw Chinese spindle cable



142victoria
01-11-2015, 03:15 PM
Hi
I have purchased a 1.5 kW Chinese spindle and need cable from inverter to spindle.
It seems from what I have read, a sutable cable to use would be; Alpha Wire 4 Core Screened 14AWG?

Does any one know where I can obtain aprox 2 meters length of this cable, in the UK? (As I do not wish to purchase a whole drum.

JAZZCNC
01-11-2015, 07:39 PM
No you don't need anything that heavy 1.5mm/2 or even 1mm/2 CY cable will work fine. Also while there will be 4 pins on the connector only 3 or them are actually used so you only need 3 core.
Often poeple use 4 core because it's the same cable they would use for the steppers. Or they want to add there own a Ground for the spindle, personaly I don't find a need.

I can suggest a supplier that will sell by the meter but they will want more for carriage than the cable so probably not worth it really. You'll be better going to Maplins or local electrical supplier and asking for CY cable.
http://www.csecables.com/acatalog/CY-Cable-p1.html

142victoria
02-11-2015, 01:42 AM
Thank you Dean. I have just ordered some 1mm/2 CY cable on ebay . 3 meters total 10 (yes a lot of money , but I can not find any cheaper and I wont it now).

Clive S
02-11-2015, 08:05 AM
Thank you Dean. I have just ordered some 1mm/2 CY cable on ebay . 3 meters total 10 (yes a lot of money , but I can not find any cheaper and I wont it now).I hope you ordered 3 or 4 core and not 2 core !!

142victoria
02-11-2015, 09:53 AM
Thanks Clive , Sure thing .(Thats is 1mm/squared)