PDA

View Full Version : steel tube build concept - 1500y,1000x,250z

outtastep
24-11-2015, 01:09 PM
hi
Ive been lurking a bit on youtube and openbuilds forum,
was keen to get some vsolt extruded aluminium to build router

have noticed this site has some very interesting threads that ive yet to read.......

I have some experience using a hobby built MDF router, stopped using it due to noise and space constraints - then i thought id build a soundproof shed for it - then i realized it is a bit crap and i should upgrade or start from scratch

my old machine has 3 motors and lead screws and electronics. and not much else to reuse

a couple of nights ago i saw a steel tube machine on youtube and imagined i could magically acquire the skills to build such a unit

anyways heres a drawing ive been playing with today.....1660616607166081660916610166111661216613 16614166151661616617anyway thanks for looking, cheers ben

outtastep
24-11-2015, 02:32 PM
photos are a bit all over the shop , this is the most recent version- 16606most of the steel, like deck and y rails and gantry sides was to be 100x50mm steel maybe 2 or 3mm thick, with the gantry maybe 150x50. The X carriage is envisaged as a aluminium plate perhaps 10mm thick with lots of bearings either side, z bit aluminium plate made into a bit of a box. was hoping to get 250mm travel on Z. Gantry is 300mm above bed/ deck/base. Might be pushing it a bit with Z.
With the base i was thinking of 5mm steel plate. there is also steel plate in corners of and holding ball screw ends/ motors.

im a bit concerned with having this type of supported rail as i have read some bad things about the here, also probably not the best having them on their side as per my x axis ?
cheers ben

Clive S
24-11-2015, 02:47 PM
Welcome to the forum Ben what do you intend to cut with this machine also it might be a good idea for you to read through some of the build logs on here.

outtastep
24-11-2015, 03:07 PM
Hi Clive,