PDA

View Full Version : Air compressor / VFD



dudz
24-12-2015, 06:36 PM
I have a 4kw air compressor. 220v/380v rated

I have wired the motor in delta. For 220v 3 phase.

The Badge on the motor states RPM 2880 at 50 hz

I have a 4kw VFD. Set at 50hz. This is giving me 1440 RPM. The single phase power input is 240V (France used to be 220v but is now 240v) . The VFD states it is drawing 5.2A

Can I safely increase the HZ to bring up the Motor RPM ?

dudz
24-12-2015, 07:21 PM
I have a 4kw air compressor. 220v/380v rated

I have wired the motor in delta. For 220v 3 phase.

The Badge on the motor states RPM 2880 at 50 hz

I have a 4kw VFD. Set at 50hz. This is giving me 1440 RPM. The single phase power input is 240V (France used to be 220v but is now 240v) . The VFD states it is drawing 5.2A

Can I safely increase the HZ to bring up the Motor RPM ?


Done....

Found a setting on the VFD = PD144 Motor RPM Setting

johnsattuk
24-12-2015, 07:29 PM
Sounds like a "pole changing motor" which often have complicated wiring connections, 2 pole delta may not be possible, need some of the boffins of the forum to comment.

Std motors generally dont like 100Hz and would probably adsorb more than 4Kw anyway.

dudz
24-12-2015, 07:41 PM
Sounds like a "pole changing motor" which often have complicated wiring connections, 2 pole delta may not be possible, need some of the boffins of the forum to comment.

Std motors generally dont like 100Hz and would probably adsorb more than 4Kw anyway.

Already sorted but thanks for your input ! . Read above :thumsup: