PDA

View Full Version : Machine Light(Lathe) anything reasonably priced



mekanik
02-02-2016, 09:34 PM
Hi Guys
Need a decent light for my lathe, had modified a standard anglepoise to take GU10 LED bulb but the output is useless.
Used to use the bulbs with built in reflector and these were fine but they are going to be phased out so need a long term fix, What i would like is one of these
http://www.secserviceparts.co.uk/led_lighting/lighting.aspx?CatID=6
But am baulking @ the GBP114 price tag.
Any ideas.
Regards
Mike

Web Goblin
02-02-2016, 10:33 PM
We have some of them at work. The light output is ok but not really bright. The operators main complaint is that they are not as adjustable as they would like. They preferred the older type with the round shaft arms. Cant remember what they are called now but they did adjust better and had longer arms.

magicniner
02-02-2016, 11:01 PM
Hi Guys
Need a decent light for my lathe, had modified a standard anglepoise to take GU10 LED bulb but the output is useless.

What power and colour temperature of GU10?
I find the 5w Daylight White make great machine lights

- Nick

mekanik
03-02-2016, 12:28 AM
Web Goblin
Thanks for that, are the ones @ work the 9.5W they say it's supposed to be equivalent to 90W and i used to use 60W in the anglepoise. Anyway glad for the feedback.
magicniner
Not sure to be honest but it is the cold light.
I bought a load of Halogen Downlighters for the house that i won't be using so i might just put a transformer in line and use them till i run out of stock.
Was even thinking of cycle lights as they are powerfull enough.
Thanks for your comments.
Mike

magicniner
03-02-2016, 09:54 AM
I've found that the LED lights which tend towards blue (cold) and yellow (warm) are fine for seeing where furniture is in the house but aren't good for reading or detail work, the daylight white are the only ones which give me a colour balance which works,
Regards,
Nick

Clive S
03-02-2016, 10:04 AM
Mike I use one of these on my router and I am just ordering another two for the mill http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2Pcs-10W-Cree-LED-Off-road-Spot-Flash-Head-Light-Lamp-for-Bike-Car-Jeep-12V-32V-/261826855985?hash=item3cf618c431 12 - 32 V

GEOFFREY
03-02-2016, 10:19 AM
Thanks Clive, I had wondered what lights some cyclists were using - very blindingly bright and shining straight ahead rather than down towards the road in front. A couple of times I had thought that it was a motorcyclist who had forgotten to dip!!! They look great for a worklight, I shall buy a couple and may even look to see if practicle to use on my boat to help mooring. G.

mekanik
03-02-2016, 11:55 AM
Hi Clive
Nice find many thanks, COB same as my task light and considerably cheaper, just shown them to a M8 and will get him a couple to try on his LE.
Any ideas about a power supply ?
Mike

Clive S
03-02-2016, 12:12 PM
Hi Clive
Nice find many thanks, COB same as my task light and considerably cheaper, just shown them to a M8 and will get him a couple to try on his LE.
Any ideas about a power supply ?
MikeI run mine from the 24V in the control box. But a 24V PS from aliexpress http://www.aliexpress.com/item/DR-45-24-Din-Rail-Switching-power-supply-45W-24VDC-2A-Output-AC-to-DC/32369128717.html?spm=2114.30010308.3.11.WbZJDR&ws_ab_test=searchweb201556_3,searchweb201644_1_505 _506_503_504_502_10001_10002_10016_10005_10006_100 03_10004,searchweb201560_5,searchweb1451318400_-1,searchweb1451318411_6448&btsid=0118faa1-83fc-49f4-b09e-bee6d63761d7 works well

Wal
03-02-2016, 03:26 PM
++1. I bought a pair of these on Clive's recommendation - they look good, they're easy to mount and very bright indeed..!

Wal.

mekanik
23-02-2016, 04:20 PM
Hi Guys
The LED lights arrived yesterday, just need a little more information please.
I would like to extend the wires coming from the unit with some decent quality cable.
What size do i need ?
the light has 3 core cable red/black/white i assume red is positive and black negative, is the white core an earth ?
what would be the best way to connect the new cable/ solder the new and shrink sleeve or go into the unit and solder to the board.
Thanks in advance
Mike

Clive S
23-02-2016, 04:37 PM
Hi Guys
The LED lights arrived yesterday, just need a little more information please.
I would like to extend the wires coming from the unit with some decent quality cable.
What size do i need ?
the light has 3 core cable red/black/white i assume red is positive and black negative, is the white core an earth ?
what would be the best way to connect the new cable/ solder the new and shrink sleeve or go into the unit and solder to the board.
Thanks in advance
Mike

The cables on mine were red, black and yellow the yellow one was to make the light flash so not needed. So you only need two core 5A would be fine.

Just extend the cable and heat shrink.

mekanik
23-02-2016, 05:45 PM
Thanks live
So is red positive & black negative ?

Clive S
23-02-2016, 07:00 PM
Thanks live
So is red positive & black negative ?Spot on

Neale
24-02-2016, 03:57 PM
Thanks for the recommendation, guys. I was looking for a replacement for the 48V worklight on my lathe. Given that the bulbs are pretty much impossible to find, and the transformer would need replacing anyway (was 415-48 but now running the lathe via an inverter so only 240V available continuously) I ended up looking at the lights from RS and so on at 100-120 or so. Fortunately, I saw this thread before I ordered and ended up with a couple of 10W LED fog lamps. Small, run cold, give out lots of light, and just need a cheap 12V power supply. I went for fog rather than spot to give a slightly more spread beam pattern and something not too bright. I've just tested them on the bench and they look very good indeed for this job. And for just over a tenner, post paid. I'll bolt one of these to the existing worklight arm on the lathe and probably use the other one on the mill.

mekanik
24-02-2016, 05:29 PM
I am ordering some wire tonight and waiting for the power supply, but that's only just been shipped due to Chinese New Year delay, looking forward to getting it up & running, went to pick up a lathe for a pal yesterday so will probably be getting him one as well.
nice one Clive

Clive S
24-02-2016, 07:18 PM
I am ordering some wire tonight and waiting for the power supply, but that's only just been shipped due to Chinese New Year delay, looking forward to getting it up & running, went to pick up a lathe for a pal yesterday so will probably be getting him one as well.
nice one CliveI am away at this time but thinking about it I am sure that any 2A cable will do the job ie. just use the lighting flex that is used from the ceiling rose to the lamp holder that can be got from any B&Q or hardware store. I used the cable that was cut off the proxy switches that I used for homing.

Neale
24-02-2016, 07:58 PM
My 10W lights come with very thin wire but they're only taking an amp or so and aren't going to need anything very heavy. Also, mine appear (according to the web site) to be "AC DC 12-32V" - so input polarity if you're running them off DC shouldn't matter, and in my case I should be able to use the existing transformer without so much as a rectifier. Fingers crossed - shall be testing later.