PDA

View Full Version : Best way to cut a 7.5 slot x 35mm

hoezap
13-02-2016, 05:14 PM
Hello

Thank you for entering in my post

I would like to know which would the most profitable way to cut a 7.5 slot +-0.1 x 35mm deep opened from both sides, on aluminium 6082 T6.

I was watching and reading about Trochoidal milling, but I have never used this method before

https://www.secotools.com/en-GB/Global/Services--Support/Tool-Selection-Support/Trochoidal-Milling/

With this method you can use all the cutting edge with a small radial cutting depth
I could use 6mm slot-mill with 3 or 2 flutes with length 6 times Diameter, the maximum spindle speed on the machine is 10.000rev/min

What sort of parameters should I set for this cut?
The surface finish tolerance is 1.6
Spindle speed: 3000 rpm
Feed: 500mm/min
Circular interpolation dimeter 7.3mm

Would you put a finish cut?

May you please suggest the best cutter for this operation and best parameters?

Any suggestion will be very appreciative

Thankyou in advance for your help

komatias
14-02-2016, 12:14 PM
Hmm this is a difficult one.

What CAM package are you using to do the motion? Trochoidal motion is a roughing operation and it leaves jagged edges on the walls or you pocket or slot. It thus needs a finishing pass.

7.3mm will leave you 0.1mm per side to finish and at a depth of 35mm that can be pretty sketchy. Ideally you would do trochoidal in this trench (not slot) with a 5mm endmill, 6 would be very tight. So 5mm endmill sticking out at least 40mm is pretty flexible at the tip. And 3000rpm is a bit limiting.