PDA

View Full Version : Help choosing basic hand tools and workbench

goldtop
10-03-2016, 09:52 PM
As per my previous posts, I'm new to CNC, moving from pillar drill/etc.

So I have a CNC router lined up, exact dimensions to follow, but it weighs in at about 110kg and has a work area of 450x875mm. It's a desktop router, so I will need a suitable workbench - right now I use the basic benches you find at BigDug/Machine Mart. Something like this one: https://www.machinemart.co.uk/p/clarke-cwb300ls-heavy-duty-workbench-with-shel/

JazzCNC advised that this type of bench isn't strong enough. Any advice on something that's going to be sturdy enough to cope?

I also need to get some basic engineering hand tools, as there will be a new need to measure. For example, the actual sheet thickness will matter more than it has done (I've been drilling it manually). I've also seen mention of Engineer's square, etc.

I did look for a sticky on basic workshop tool suggestions, but couldn't find one. If I've overlooked it, let me know.

m_c
10-03-2016, 11:16 PM
I'd be inclined to make my own workbench using some suitable wood. Basic legs/frame from something like 4x2, then top it of with something equally sturdy, like 6 or 8x1.5. You could use plywood, but without lots of bracing underneath it'll sag.
I've got a couple workbenches made from building site leftovers following the above construction, and they've handled a lot more than a 100kg!

Off course, depending on how enthusiastically Jazz has tuned the router, you may need to add a couple diagonal braces to stop the whole lot wobbling around.