PDA

View Full Version : Motion control systems from China.

nirmal
13-04-2016, 09:07 PM
Hi everyone. Non technical newbie here so please be patient. I have bought a bare-bones 6040 CNC kit which I am fitting with 3Nm stepper motors and second hand AM882H drivers. I am a bit undecided on what motion controller to get.

Mach 3 and Liunxcnc seem to have the best support network but the need to get yet another obsolete computer +/- operating system when I already have 3 unsuitable ones is off putting.
Mach 4 and external motion controllers seem to cost quite a lot considering that I would still have to purchase a software licence. The other popular alternatives seem a bit daunting for a new user
PlanetCNC looks quite attractive price wise and was / still is my first choice until I came across this http://www.aliexpress.com/item/DDCSV1-4-axis-4-linkage-motion-controller-stepper-motor-and-servo-motor-NC-engraving-machine-CNC/32538034211.html

There is surprisingly little information about this and other similar control units available. Reading through the fairly decent user manual, with my rather limited understanding of motion control devices and software it appears quite attractive. http://kenswu.zzvps.com/cjcmall/DS_DDCSV1_EN_Manual_011.pdf I like the idea of not having to have a computer next to the router and transferring the G-code to it in a USB stick. Would something like this conveniently replace a computer + motion controller board + software? Is it not popular because of some obvious reason I am missing? I am very tempted to take a punt on one of these. I would greatly appreciate the opinions of more experienced members before parting with my money.

Here is a tear down video of a similar box https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCxDZmvb5po It is the only useful innormation I can find on these.

magicniner
14-04-2016, 11:24 AM
Why not use Mach3 with one of the available external motion controllers and use as new a PC that's as you like?

JAZZCNC