PDA

View Full Version : 3D contour in inventorCAM (solidCAM) or other CAM software



paulus.v
16-05-2016, 01:23 PM
Hey,
I am trying to program a 3D contour with inventorCAM and I'm starting to pull my hair out, one each 3 seconds :) The auto curve propagation is so damn slow! Look at the video below. Is there another approach to my situation? Or another CAM software out there that is able to work with 3D drawings (not solids)? The perfect solution would be to be able to automatically select all curves that intersect the triangular solids.

https://youtu.be/4ILuyuGcXbE

magicniner
16-05-2016, 04:27 PM
I watched the video and from that and your post I'm still unable to work out what it is you're trying to do.

- Nick

paulus.v
16-05-2016, 07:47 PM
I watched the video and from that and your post I'm still unable to work out what it is you're trying to do.
Yes, after I posted, I realised that the video is somehow misleading because it is a top view.

Here is another one.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEgkf3dS6sY

magicniner
17-05-2016, 06:35 PM
Is this a job to machine or just a model?

paulus.v
17-05-2016, 06:58 PM
For real it is. I've already started machining.

magicniner
17-05-2016, 11:32 PM
Got it, you're running a hemispherical cutter along a curve with a sine-wave-like vertical component.
Sadly now I understand I can't help :apologetic: