PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: My first go at making a CNC router

Norgmonster
07-06-2016, 07:31 PM
Hi All,

Its great to have such a community to be able to talk to. I'm 31 and i have never joint a forum before.

I hope i can contribute as much as i will ask of you :wink:.

First of all (TOTAL NEWBIE QUESTION), were can i get preexisting CAD files of components for my cnc router plan? Stuff like ball screws, rack rails, drive rails and so on?

Best,

Norgmonster

Clive S
07-06-2016, 07:47 PM
You can get them for the hwin site and this place https://grabcad.com/ Have you decided on a cad program Fusion360 I think is free for hobby use and it also has CAM built in. There are plenty of tutorials about on the web.

Norgmonster
07-06-2016, 10:40 PM
Thanks for the info. It will be a great starting point.

I've needed a project like this to finally make me learn a descent CAD program, and AutoCAD has been on my desktop gathering computer program dust for far to long :-)

I've never heard of Fusion360. Will it run on a Mac? If it also runs CAM then it might be worth a look.

Whatever gets my plans out to you guys faster the better :-).

Best for now,

NorgMonster

lucan07
07-06-2016, 10:52 PM
Fusion360 will run on Apple MacŪ OSŪ X Mavericks (10.9.5), OSŪ X Yosemite (10.10.5), OSŪ X El Capitan (10.11)

I personally found it by far the easiest to use and learn from the many I installed.

Norgmonster
08-06-2016, 12:13 AM
Good to know. I will give it a try first thing in the morning.:sleeping:

Norgmonster
08-06-2016, 11:09 PM
Most of you guys may know all about it but I have found a great resource of 3d CAD files on a site called www.b2b.partcommunity.com (http://www.b2b.partcommunity.com). The files are also available in a number of formats so they can be read by almost any program. https://grabcad.com/ only seams to support Solid Works.

If anyone is interested then let me know what they think.