Page 24 of 27 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast
  1. #231
    Quote Originally Posted by Bubbles View Post
    I use CAMBAM. It lets me change between inches and mm.

    I already have many files created in inches. Changing them to mm instead of inches seems to make no difference.

    When I try to run one in inches it seems to run in mm instead of inches.

    My spindle is calibrated to move 25.4mm to get 1in of travel, so assume if I increased my numbers 25.4 times I would get what I want. Except I don't want to go through my files and convert them manually.

    Am I missing something to get files to run at a 1 on the display = 1in ???

    Thanks for your responses so far guys!
    Does the code have a G20 in it?
    You think that's too expensive? You're not a Model Engineer are you? :D

  2. #232
    Quote Originally Posted by magicniner View Post
    Does the code have a G20 in it?
    Here are the first few lines of one of the files.
    ( Made using CamBam - http://www.cambam.co.uk )
    ( chickenfoot 12/26/2017 9:42:57 AM )
    ( T0 : 0.0001 )
    ( T1 : 0.125 )
    ( T4 : 0.25 )
    G20 G90 G64 G40
    G0 Z0.125
    ( T4 : 0.25 )
    T4 M6
    ( Profile1 )
    G17
    M3 S1000
    G0 X-2.25 Y-0.375
    G0 Z0.0625
    G1 F200.0 Z-0.015
    G1 F1000.0 X-3.0847
    G3 X-3.2081 Y-0.52 I0.0 J-0.125
    G3 X-2.6742 Y-1.8469 I3.2081 J0.52

  3. #233
    Quote Originally Posted by Bubbles View Post
    Am I missing something to get files to run at a 1 on the display = 1in ???
    In the links in post #229 is a download for the English manual. On page 80 there is parameter #115 0=metric,1=imperial.

    https://www.cnccookbook.com/g21-gcod...tric-imperial/
    Last edited by cropwell; 26-12-2017 at 04:05 PM.
    Albert Einstein may have been a genius, but his brother Frank, was a monster

    Having just moved to Windows 10 (which is crap) My stress levels are through the roof !!!

  4. #234
    Quote Originally Posted by cropwell View Post
    In the links in post #229 is a download for the English manual. On page 80 there is parameter #115 0=metric,1=imperial.

    https://www.cnccookbook.com/g21-gcod...tric-imperial/
    I don't find parameter #115 in my parameter page.

  5. #235
    Quote Originally Posted by Bubbles View Post
    I don't find parameter #115 in my parameter page.
    I have tried installing the latest firmware listed in that post but I don't have parameter 114 or 115 and possibly others.

    I am guessing I am running an older version of the firm ware even though my disply says Ver: 2017-04-16-IM NOR

  6. #236
    Can this controller home a dual ballscrew Y axis independently? I've thought about buying it a few times.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  7. #237
    Quote Originally Posted by Desertboy View Post
    Can this controller home a dual ballscrew Y axis independently? I've thought about buying it a few times.
    Short answer is no
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:


  9. #238
    Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    Short answer is no
    That's a deal breaker, glad I didn't buy one. Otherwise looks a nice bit of kit for the money.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  10. #239
    Does either switching between G20/G21 and/or parameter #115 (where it exists) cause the unit display to change from three to four decimal places for Inch use?

    I looked through the parameter list in the manuals for both versions and couldn't find anything remotely looking like a scale factor. Earlier entries in the Parameter List imply such things as pulses per MM for distance. If it is assumed that the G code selects Inch or Metric for display purposes my guess would be that changing the Parameters (#34, 35, 36) to 640*25.4 = 16256 or whatever your leadscrew to motor gearing gives you, would solve the problem for Inch users. Perhaps the data entry in the manual should be Pulses per unit of distance travelled, rather than Pulses per MM. I can't remember a CNC system where changing from G20 to G21 did anything other than move a decimal point in tool or work offsets. It did however cause scaling for axis moves.

    By implication all this suggests that the DDCSV varieties do not have a switchable Inch Metric system - but it can be set up to work with the right pulse counts for either Inch or Metric, but not both without changing parameters. The loss of Parameter #115 may indicate the system is simpler than expected. Do people still switch between the two systems?

    My two penn'orth

  11. #240
    I have an interest in using one of these types of controllers in the future, so I had a look through the documentation using this as an example problem. I get the impression that not all parameters are changeable 'on screen' and that you have to load a parameter file to your computer, edit it and then upload the parameter file to the device. If this is the case then it seems a lot of faff, I would assume that future versions of the firmware might include the facility to edit this parameter directly as well as the much desired twin screw axis homing and squaring. I don't know how much of the world other than USA (and model engineers stuck in the past) operates in imperial measures, but I reckon it could be a poorly implemented afterthought to make some gesture to the non-metrics of the world.
    Albert Einstein may have been a genius, but his brother Frank, was a monster

    Having just moved to Windows 10 (which is crap) My stress levels are through the roof !!!

Page 24 of 27 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. CSLAB CSMIO/IP-M 4-axis Ethernet Motion Controller
    By dudz in forum CS-Lab (CSMIO)
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 02-01-2017, 12:27 AM
  2. FOR SALE: Galil Motion Controller - PCI DMC 1842 - four axes
    By lateAtNight in forum Items For Sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24-06-2014, 02:41 PM
  3. FOR SALE: Galil 1880 8 axis PCI motion controller
    By Boyan Silyavski in forum Items For Sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2014, 06:39 PM
  4. Advice please! JAF Motion Controller issues!
    By Mark Chard in forum Machine Control Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31-01-2014, 04:03 PM
  5. eBay: Galil DMC-1580 Motion Controller 8-Axis
    By Boyan Silyavski in forum Items On eBay UK
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-12-2013, 09:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •