. .
    Hi

Im trying to plan the building of a Cnc wire bending machine.

I'd like to build it using arduino, with stepper motor drivers and stepper motors. I could need 4 stepper motors.

I have no problems with mechanical side of things but I've never built a Cnc machine before.

I have used Cnc wire edm, Cnc milling machines, and 3d printers, I have some experience of directly inputting g code, but normally used a post processor.

Could anyone recommend software to run the machine.

Would I be better buying a kit from this site https://www.cnc4you.co.uk/CNC-Kits/Digital-Stepper-Kits

Thanks for any help or guidance.
    Regards
    Jeremy

Lives in Marple Stockport, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 21 Hours Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 3,333. Received thanks 618 times, giving thanks to others 78 times. Made a monetary donation to the upkeep of the community. Is a beta tester for Machinists Network features.
    Would I be better buying a kit from this site https://www.cnc4you.co.uk/CNC-Kits/Digital-Stepper-Kits
    This is a good company to buy the stepper from but in general kits are never matched it is better to buy drives like AM882 and use a non linear power supply. Software might be challenging to find so can't answer that.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

Why don't you just follow the instructions on the DiWire and start from there?

Would that be 3d or 2d?

Any 4 axis capable breakout board or a motion control could move 4 motors , from 10$ to 1000$. To narrow down, you will need to specify how many if any additional inputs, outputs? Way of communication? Programmable, offline, windows, linux, Mach3? etc.

But the way i see it, the cornerstone here will be: "who and how will translate 3d shapes to G code?"