. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    On the off chance one of you guys is getting a shiny new CNC mill for xmas and is looking to make space early, I thought I'd post up.

I am a complete novice, and looking for a CNC Mill (as good a brand as possible) running mach 3 or similar.

I'd like the full package that can be unplugged from one workshop, and plugged into mine and be in a fully working state - so no projects please, as I'd be out of my depth before I start.

As with all these sorts of purchases, I'd like a massive one, but probably don't have room for much bigger than a Denford Triac, but I am ideally after a reasonable size working area, I'm thinking 200mm x 150mm x 150mm as a rough idea of the sort of size parts I'm looking to work with (motorcycle parts, mostly aluminium but some steel too perhaps).

I have nothing mill or CNC related, so tooling/vice etc would be best included.

I am based in the north west of England, but can travel and I have a van.

Budget is flexible, but I have a ceiling of £3kish

Thanks in advance

What CAD/CAM are you planning to use?
    I ask because I bought a CNC mill, fixed a few issues, stood back, admired my work and thought.....

How the hell do I make the code to make it make things ;-)

= Nick
    You think that's too expensive? You're not a Model Engineer are you? :D

Now that is an excellent question. I have my eye on a Dunford Novamill which runs VR, but I think that turns G code into something the machine understands, but how that g code gets made, and how that is based on some sort of computer model I "draw" is a complete mystery to me. I was hoping something mad like, "it's a generic file type and any package works fine with VR" might be a bit optimistic...

Lives in East Lothian, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 2 Days Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 2,908. Received thanks 360 times, giving thanks to others 8 times.