1. #1
    Weird issue after homing the machine when we jog away from home positions in x and y the reading is a negative value in each axis.

    So campaths appear outside of the bounding box when we preview a milling job.

    A workaround that we've found is to set a datum offset at the limit of x and y away from the home position and to draw the cam paths in negative coordinate space.

    Has anyone experienced this before or have any insights as to why this is occurring?

    Hugh

  2. #2
    m_c's Avatar
    Lives in East Lothian, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 13 Hours Ago Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 1,794. Received thanks 189 times, giving thanks to others 5 times.
    What control software are you using?

    Triac home switches are at the positive limit travels, so what you are seeing is correct. You need to modify the control so when homing, machine zero is at the opposite limits.
    Avoiding the rubbish customer service from AluminiumWarehouse since July '13.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to m_c For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by m_c View Post
    What control software are you using?

    Triac home switches are at the positive limit travels, so what you are seeing is correct. You need to modify the control so when homing, machine zero is at the opposite limits.
    Its a 96 Triac with with Denfords original software, away from workshop so cant confirm version number.

    When you say modify the control do you mean that there is a setting in the software that allows us to change the machine zero coordinates?

  5. #4
    m_c's Avatar
    Lives in East Lothian, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 13 Hours Ago Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 1,794. Received thanks 189 times, giving thanks to others 5 times.
    If it's windows based, then it should be VR Milling 2 or 5. Prior to that, I'm not sure of the name.

    Regardless, you can ignore what I said about changing the machine reference point as you don't need to. Although for simplicity having machine zero at the front left corner of the table makes sense, as then all travel is in a positive direction.

    However, all you need to do is set/apply work offsets.
    There are various options, but in VR Milling 5, I always used the work offset screen to locate where I wanted the work piece zero. Best to have read of the manual for the software you're using.
    Avoiding the rubbish customer service from AluminiumWarehouse since July '13.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to m_c For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    [QUOTE=m_c;86159]If it's windows based, then it should be VR Milling 2 or 5. Prior to that, I'm not sure of the name.

    Although for simplicity having machine zero at the front left corner of the table makes sense, as then all travel is in a positive direction.

    Thats what we expected as well but but the workpiece appears to be in the in the negative coordinates area which we cannot fathom out. We have looked at the information in the manual multiple times but are still scratching our heads!

    Yes it is VR Milling 5 that we are using.

    Im sure we will work it out eventually.

    Thanks for trying to help, much appreciated :)
    Last edited by camhguh; 09-12-2016 at 06:17 PM.

  8. #6
    m_c's Avatar
    Lives in East Lothian, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 13 Hours Ago Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 1,794. Received thanks 189 times, giving thanks to others 5 times.
    In VR Milling, open the offset window (second icon from left at bottom of screen), then click on Work Offsets.
    Either jog to where you'd like X0 Y0 to be, then click the X and Y zero buttons, or if you're touching of an edge, use the calculator buttons below that to allow for the cutter/touch tool diameter.
    .
    If you just want X0 Y0 to be front left, then jog the table until you hit the soft limits, and click the zero buttons.
    You can create and save plenty work offsets (I'm not sure if there is a limit on the number you can have), and it's just a case of selecting the offset you'd like to use, then clicking Activate.
    Avoiding the rubbish customer service from AluminiumWarehouse since July '13.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to m_c For This Useful Post:


Similar Threads

  1. Syil X4 Plus - E-stop issue
    By Keith-h in forum Milling Machines, Builds & Conversions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-12-2016, 05:53 PM
  2. mach 3 scaling issue
    By terry1956 in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 16-09-2016, 01:31 PM
  3. Arc movement issue
    By lukecnc2012 in forum Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2015, 07:15 PM
  4. THC Setting Issue?
    By Davek0974 in forum Plasma Table Machines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17-10-2014, 07:53 AM
  5. Ref all home issue? A hand would be great just here!
    By suesi34e in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-09-2014, 09:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •