. .
    Ok, I'll admit it, I'm completely new to CNC stuff. I upcycle old whisky casks and cask staves which are solid oak, the longest I use are about 1400mm. I spotted a CNC router video and thought to myself, "I wonder if these can be used to carve Celtic knot work into the staves". I've found videos of carving been done on the flat but barrel staves are convex curved on the horizontal as well as the vertical. What I need to know is, will a CNC machine be able to follow the curvature of the stave so the carving is uniform in depth all the way along the stave? If there is a machine that does it, where would. I buy it or could someone on this forum make one?

I'm looking to start a business out of this as the stuff I do by hand goes like hot cakes at Cand I think by introducing carved work I'm onto winner. I'd be looking to do fret type work and signage as well.

I know there'll be a bit of a learning curve regarding software etc but I do like a challenge and am highly computer literate.

Hope this makes sense. I can see my idea in my head but not sure if it translates into the physical or not.

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Tricksterdude; 19-01-2017 at 09:53 PM.

For around 3000 spent you could DIY a very capable 600x900x200mm working area machine, sth like what i build for a friend 2 years ago. Of course size could be adjusted to your particular needs, what i am saying is just to have an idea of parts price per work space.

or for ~5000 sb can make that same machine for you

If you design in CAD the shape, it will carve it. Even if convex, it will project it on surface, and if you cleverly design the details it could not be a problem. Now- to carve it at every single place perpendicular to the face machine must be 5 Axis, which is not only much more expensive to do it properly but you need 5 axis CAD which is expensive if legally obtained. And a serious learning curve...