. .

Thread: Parallel issues

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hey guys.

So i am new to CNC's.

I recently purchased a 1000mm x 1000mm machine used.

Its main uses will be making things as a hobby, and i haven't quite worked out where to house it, or keep it stood up (is that bad for the machine?).

It is belt driven and uses a Kess 1050 FME-1 router.

Aside from noticing there are parts missing (Nut and collet, and Power cable for the Kress) after i collected it (Things i didnt think to look out for). The machine is not bad, well i THINK.

So i have an issue from the outset.
    The control board is a CNC4X45A which has a parallel interface, given i use Windows 10 64 bit on my only laptop.

I dont really want a whole desktop, with associated peripherals living in my flat, or any where really because of the lack of space.

Ideally i would like to be able to use my laptop for designing and cutting.

I have heard there is an issue with "love data" on usb connections hence parallel is always better.

So i understand there are numerous options:
    1. Chinese USB CNC controllers
    2. U100 (Some form of converter dongle).
    3. Parallel to USB Converter
    4. USBCNC controller (recommended by robocutters).

Any ideas?
    If worse does come to worse i will purchase a desktop then in some way mount it underneath the CNC, or above it even.

Thanks in advance

Hi.you can't use Windows 10 64bit with a parallel cable. You will need to use an Ethernet board. Windows 10 turns off the parallel cable so makes it useless for Inc.you are better using a old Windows 7 desktop.believe me I wasted weeks trying to get the breakout board to work with my new Windows 10 pc. Using a old 40 pound Windows 7 machine it all worked within the hour

#2 is your best option, and if you don't already have a Mach3 license, use UCCNC software, which is better, and much cheaper.

ANd it's not a converter, but a motion controller.
    Converters do not work.