Page 28 of 62 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast
  1. #271
    Quote Originally Posted by AlexDoran View Post
    Thats what i meant return the card if it doesn't work :D
    It was £2 (delivered) for the PCI card lol got PC this morning, just set it up and installing windows 7, then we'll see if the GFX card works with fusion 360.

    Still waiting on my 1.5mm CY cable for the spindle (Didn't order enough last time) will be tomorrow.

    Itching to get it working, but got 1/2 of it wired now, really need to sort the limit switches out but need to machine to work so I can manufacture the parts (Out of aluminium obviously) as I need to guarantee repeatability for my plan to work.
    Last edited by Desertboy; 23-10-2017 at 11:52 AM.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  2. #272
    Quote Originally Posted by Desertboy View Post
    It was £2 (delivered) for the PCI card lol got PC this morning, just set it up and installing windows 7, then we'll see if the GFX card works with fusion 360.

    Still waiting on my 1.5mm CY cable for the spindle (Didn't order enough last time) will be tomorrow.

    Itching to get it working, but got 1/2 of it wired now, really need to sort the limit switches out but need to machine to work so I can manufacture the parts (Out of aluminium obviously) as I need to guarantee repeatability for my plan to work.
    Ah ok haha.

    I just semi-finished wiring again for the second time, Proximity sensors i had were NPN & not PNP. What are the parts like? I could 3D Print temporary ones for you.

    Alex

  3. #273
    Little bit more done today, limit switches are fitted directly into the aluminium extrusion

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20171031_152227.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	278.7 KB 
ID:	23122 You can just see the red microswitch at the end of the energy chain a Hiwin carriage triggers it, there's identical switch on the other side in same position.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20171031_152237.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	226.4 KB 
ID:	23123 And just under the bolt in the energy is the other switch only one bolt at moment need to find a 5mm piece of aluminium so I can fit the 2nd bolt but the edge is tight against the Hiwin rail so it's solid.

    I drilled them tapped the holes, very happy how they came out. There is no Z axis switch yet will rebuild the Z axis so they will be added then.


    Power supply is ready to be hooked up to the AM882's

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20171031_152340.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	319.0 KB 
ID:	23124

    AM882's now have all the stall protection wired in
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20171031_152325.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	262.1 KB 
ID:	23125

    The PC to control this now has windows 7 and Fusion 360 on it, and a parallel pci card installed. Wiring is in the energy chain just need to connect everything up, earth the spindle and connect solder that up and we can get it running.

    Need to get some wiring for microswitch just going to use cheap 2 core a junction box to split the power from the home built PSU to 4 steppers and some connector plugs will pick up on way to work tomorrow.

    How should I connect the CY cable to the nema cable, soldering or connectors?
    Last edited by Desertboy; 31-10-2017 at 07:22 PM.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  4. #274
    Looks ace mate good progress! Is there anything special needed in order to enable stall protection on the drivers? I have the same ones but only have them wired normally at the moment, remember seeing in the manual that it said it only works above 300RPM.

    I soldered my CY cable to the motor wiring, make it easier for me as i was going 8 wires into 4.

    Alex

  5. #275
    Quote Originally Posted by AlexDoran View Post
    Looks ace mate good progress! Is there anything special needed in order to enable stall protection on the drivers? I have the same ones but only have them wired normally at the moment, remember seeing in the manual that it said it only works above 300RPM.

    I soldered my CY cable to the motor wiring, make it easier for me as i was going 8 wires into 4.

    Alex
    Just wire the output to the emergency input on your controller board then if it's missing a step the machine shuts down. You can see it's the 2 wires for stall protection next to the direction outputs on the AM882's.

    On my controller I had to wire them to a connector and then to the emergency input on my BOB as I have to cram 4 wires into 1 emergency socket, it's worse for the ground I have to cram at least 7 wires into 1 lol.
    Last edited by Desertboy; 01-11-2017 at 10:45 AM.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  6. #276
    Quickie question, I'm sure this is ok

    I have 3 microswitches at moment 2 on the Y axis (Dual ballscrew) and 1 on the X axis, I want to wire from the Y axis microswitch to the 1 of the X Axis microswitches in series and then to the BOB X input and the other Y axis switch to the Y input is this ok?
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  7. #277
    Quote Originally Posted by Desertboy View Post
    Quickie question, I'm sure this is ok

    I have 3 microswitches at moment 2 on the Y axis (Dual ballscrew) and 1 on the X axis, I want to wire from the Y axis microswitch to the 1 of the X Axis microswitches in series and then to the BOB X input and the other Y axis switch to the Y input is this ok?
    I would keep the Y switches on the there own inputs . Can you sketch a circuit of what you intend to do?
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:


  9. #278
    If I understand you correctly it would work but you will only be able to home one axis at a time.. this is something I think about aswell for my build.
    The way I think I'm gonna go is with one more bob to get inputs to use them separately :)

    Skickat från min SM-N910C via Tapatalk

  10. #279
    Got the limit switches wired up and the Y axis limit switch cable fed through the energy chain which meant removing it, it's a very tight fit ;)

    Spent ages on little bits like making sure the CY cable is well supported, cabling is fed nice and neatly back to the control box.

    Also spent 2 hours stripping some copper radiator water cooling units from a massive control box going to keep one to cool my spindle and sell one they're chunky things.

    Going to go back in an hour and see if I can get the CY cable and spindle cable on tonight and move the PC down and connect up the power, etc. So tomorrow morning I can start playing, need to think about where to mount my VFD and copper rad.
    http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/10880...60cm-work-area My first CNC build WIP 120cm*80cm

    If you didn't buy it from China the company you bought it from did ;)

  11. #280
    Go-go desertboy! :D

    Skickat från min SM-N910C via Tapatalk

Page 28 of 62 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New Table Build, 12x6 work area, drawings up any advice?
    By silverdrgn in forum Plasma Table Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-01-2016, 06:34 PM
  2. BUILD LOG: My 1st Hybrid Steel/Ally (1150 x 850 work area) (comments/advice please)
    By lebies in forum DIY Router Build Logs
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 19-08-2014, 11:00 AM
  3. BUILD LOG: Melbourne Andy CNC build 1220x810 work area
    By AndyGuid in forum DIY Router Build Logs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20-04-2014, 07:25 PM
  4. RFQ: acetal parts turned lathe work
    By deisel in forum Projects, Jobs & Requests
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13-06-2013, 09:15 AM
  5. Wanted - Regular work for reliable machine shop in Northants/Kettering area
    By Narkedat90 in forum Opportunities Available & Sought
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-04-2013, 03:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •