. .
    Hi

I have a boxford CNC router model A3HSR. When trying to replace the bottom bearing I destroyed the armature. I contacted boxford but they don't sell the armatures only the whole spindle/router (porter and cable 86920 type 2) for around £600. I can only find the same spindle/router in the USA (around $200) but these are 110v rather than 240 volt. Does anyone know where I can get a replacement porter and cable 240v spindle or something similar? Any advice would be appreciated.

I am a retired DT teacher and taught students how to use a similar machine at school. I use this one at home as a hobby making signs form oak.

Thanks

Mike

Welcome to the forum Mike,

Something like this ? https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_f...05386&_sacat=0
    Last edited by EddyCurrent; 06-08-2017 at 10:16 PM.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

Hi

Thanks for your reply. I was hoping to find a "like for like" replacement. The original porter cable router is single phase air cooled, 240v. These spindles are 3 phase and water cooled which will take some "fettling", but doable.��
    Last edited by Diysurgeon; 07-08-2017 at 09:28 AM.

Before the water cooled Chinese spindles became popular lots of people used the Kress spindle. It is better made and more accurate than the average router and only a bit more expensive.

https://www.cnc4you.co.uk/Spindle/Kr...ar-UK-Warranty

It will have a 42mm diameter for the spindle which is smaller than the body of the porter cable router but you can buy the clamp or you could rig up an adaptor.

RoboCutters sell a router called the Rhino router that looks similar to the porter cable specifically for CNC applications.

https://robocutters.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=Router

I think none of them are a match for the Chinese spindles really.

Hi