. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I'm new to CNC and still getting to grips with converting an old NC machine to run on Mach3 (well, that's what I'm using at present).

Just when I think I know what various boards and components are for I find that I have a gap in my knowledge which I can't get my head round.

My machine seems to work fine with an old PC and a BOB. So what advantage is there to using a motion controller board? What does it do that a BOB won't do?

David

a motion controller will generate all the step and direction signals itself in realtime in stead of the pc doing it. the advantage is that a pc might decide to go and check this other thing its doing and take resources away from generating step and direction signals causing problems

Quote Originally Posted by johngoodrich View Post
    a motion controller will generate all the step and direction signals itself in realtime in stead of the pc doing it. the advantage is that a pc might decide to go and check this other thing its doing and take resources away from generating step and direction signals causing problems
    Ah right, I get it now. So when my steppers make a noise like they're losing steps (but actually are not) it's down to the computer running other stuff. I noticed it was much worse the other day when I had another bit of control software open.

So, how does a programme like Mach3 or LCNC work with the motion controller? Does Mach3 have a sub-programme to generate the pulses? I suppose that this is bypassed and the G-code sent straight to the motion controller - or is it more complicated?

Oh, and what about ports and pins and limit stops etc?
    Last edited by Agathon; 09-08-2017 at 11:10 PM.