Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1
    Hi,there everyone.
    I need help with wiring my cnc6040Z USB 800 Watt machine 3 axis limit switches -->2 per axis in Normally Closed in series to the board mentioned bellow.

    My problem is I have JP-3163B ver 3.9 motion controller board,On one side it has these connections--> VCC/XXW/XYW/ZXW and on the other C/NO/0-10V/ GND now please tell me do i need to place the 2 wires per limit switch for eg.for the X axis -->Com and NC wires in the XXW slot and Y axis Com and NC in the XYW and same for the Z axis in the ZXW or only NC wire in each of them and all the COM wires in the VCC slot?
    Im so confused ???? plus do I need resisters or is it fine without???? :

    And here is a link for the complete pic.

    https://www.google.com/search?q=wiri...p8ASzSf5YzixM:

    Please HELP anyone:(

  2. #2
    Hi
    do you have a link to the manual you can post ?
    of better still -
    take a photo of your board

    as the google link goes to several pictures

    I think you should find the limit switch connections should go to
    a small 5 pin header on the board and not to any large screw terminals like the connections for the power and stepper motors

    John
    Last edited by john swift; 21-09-2017 at 10:27 PM.

  3. #3
    Hi.there I have tried to attached a pic of the actual board I have minus the DB9 which is optional on mine.now i also have [cnc6040z .settings file ] which i can not open and would like to know how to upload on this page it is saying invalid format please tell me how to upload??? I need your help on wiring limit switches and setting exact parameters in mach 3 or 4 demo according to these documents which came with the machine.???

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cnc6040z actual board.jpg 
Views:	113 
Size:	169.0 KB 
ID:	22863
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CNC USB English Manual.pdf  

  4. #4
    hi i have managed to upload my cnc6040Z XML settings file that came with the cd for my machine.great i hope you can help me with everything from start to milling something.

    i have also attached a pic of the actual limit switches i would like wire in series 2 per axis on the actual board....
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    <<<Now i know that 2 limit switches will have 2 wires coming from them ---->1) Com(black wire GND) /// 2) NC(Red wire)
    so that is 6 wires /6 limit switches...>>>
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    now how and where on my jp-3163B v3.9 board i have attached a pic of , will 3 black wires and the 3 red wires be plugged in exactly ???

    Also do i have use resisters with my limit switches or not i need full explanation i hope not ?????/??

    Sorry for my persistence and rambling. :)
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Schematicsman; 23-09-2017 at 04:32 AM.

  5. #5
    This is how I would connect the limit switches.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	limits.jpg 
Views:	383 
Size:	101.1 KB 
ID:	22868
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

  6. #6
    I see Eddycurrent beet me to it

    while I was adding to one of your pictures
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	limit switch connections.jpg 
Views:	575 
Size:	332.8 KB 
ID:	22869

    with only the link to select either the internal +5v or an external positive suppy for the input opto isolators
    but no link to break the ground connection

    it looks like you can not take full advantage of the input
    opto-isolators

    as soon as I can I will down load mach3 to see what the XML file setting are

    John
    Last edited by john swift; 23-09-2017 at 08:28 PM.

  7. #7
    Hi,there john hows things,have managed to figure out how to wire up my board, I'm stuck cant get to use my machine I need help on how to wire up 2 limits per axis for my board in the most simplest way and also do i need resisters and what value . basically I need a complete instruction on wiring limit switches on the board specified above???? then exact Mach 3 XML setup to get my machine moving quick and start pcb isolation milling and aluminum milling,Please HeLP ASAP its frustrating me the whole thing is catching dust....

  8. #8
    You have the user name "Schematicsman", you are going to mill a pcb, and yet you can't wire two switches in series ? plus you can't read the previous two posts ! having a laugh ?
    Last edited by EddyCurrent; 28-09-2017 at 07:37 PM.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

  9. #9
    version 2 of limit switch diagram

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	limit switch connections v2.jpg 
Views:	528 
Size:	360.2 KB 
ID:	22885

    John

    PS

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GreenBoard.jpg 
Views:	464 
Size:	93.1 KB 
ID:	22886

  10. #10
    hi there John for starters that is just a user name i came up with, has nothing to do with anything and im a newbie in all of this wiring and cnc stuff.so im trying to learn how to wire everything up and properly setup Mach 3 like everybody else to start doing some milling ect.and I need to know,do i need to use resisters and also how do I wire all coms together and fit the wires in the connector???? :(
    Last edited by Schematicsman; 29-09-2017 at 04:43 AM.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Limit switch problem
    By ECCO in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25-12-2015, 10:28 AM
  2. Limit Switch wiring question
    By Boyan Silyavski in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-06-2015, 01:11 PM
  3. One limit switch per axis
    By EddyCurrent in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30-09-2013, 10:38 AM
  4. Limit switch wiring question ...
    By Wobblybootie in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 31-10-2010, 10:06 AM
  5. Limit switch's - best configuration?
    By HiltonSteve in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 13-08-2009, 12:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •