1. #1
    Hi,

    I am looking at a potential workshop in a semi industrial / residential area. The owner is uncertain, so I thought I'd ask here.

    Is there a central service for requesting a quote for 3 Phase power or is it based on whomever your local supplier is?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    JOGARA's Avatar
    Lives in Derby, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 14 Hours Ago Has been a member for 0-1 years. Has a total post count of 157. Received thanks 5 times, giving thanks to others 39 times.
    Just contact your local distribution company eg, Western Power Distribution
    http://www.energynetworks.org/info/f...-operator.html

    They will know best for your location and can also give you an idea on install cost.
    It can be quite to get it installed if there is no onsite 3 phase so if you are in a small industrial park/premises or one within/near a residential, mostly likely it wont have 3 phase as the demand is not enough.
    That and I believe they try not to install 3 phase near residential as it is expected the equipment that uses 3 phase typically results in more noise pollution..?


    (this is just from my own research from looking at a small unit that had 3 phase at the park but not to all the units, don't take my word as gospel)
    Last edited by JOGARA; 3 Weeks Ago at 03:06 PM.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JOGARA For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Thanks.

    Found that it was this.

    https://www.ssen.co.uk

    Their old website says no 3 Phase at residential property. Called them, said website was old, new site just needs registration and can then apply / get a quote.

    Thanks

  5. #4
    if you are in a small industrial park/premises or one within/near a residential, mostly likely it wont have 3 phase as the demand is not enough.
    That and I believe they try not to install 3 phase near residential as it is expected the equipment that uses 3 phase typically results in more noise pollution..?
    I would suggest that most industrial units have 3 phase. Also there is 3 phase around most residential developments but they don't like bringing it in to a standard house.

    I did have 3 phase in my house but had it taken out many years ago

    The owner should know if he has it.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  6. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    I would suggest that most industrial units have 3 phase. Also there is 3 phase around most residential developments but they don't like bringing it in to a standard house.

    I did have 3 phase in my house but had it taken out many years ago

    The owner should know if he has it.
    In this case, they only have single phase. So this we know.

    Why someone in their right mind would have 3 phase removed is beyond me ......

  7. #6
    JOGARA's Avatar
    Lives in Derby, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 14 Hours Ago Has been a member for 0-1 years. Has a total post count of 157. Received thanks 5 times, giving thanks to others 39 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    I would suggest that most industrial units have 3 phase. Also there is 3 phase around most residential developments but they don't like bringing it in to a standard house.

    I did have 3 phase in my house but had it taken out many years ago

    The owner should know if he has it.
    A couple I looked at didn't have it but they were next or within residential areas. That or the agent didn't know or is talking shit..
    Can only guess the latter.

    When I say small I mean like 1-3 little workshop size small not like a proper park btw.

  8. Most reliable option is to look at where the power comes in yourself. 4 cables in (all of which should pass through the meter), means there is 3 phase coming in. If there's only 2 cables, then it's only single phase.

    If there's not a low voltage 3 phase transformer near by, then expect a 5 digit cost. My neighbour just got quoted 18'000 to get a transformer installed to get 3 phase next to an 11kV line.
    Avoiding the rubbish customer service from AluminiumWarehouse since July '13.

Similar Threads

  1. motor power and chinese spindles power HELP
    By DigiSoft in forum Spindles & Drive Motors
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-09-2013, 12:17 AM
  2. convert 3 phase to single phase?
    By D-man in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-04-2013, 12:16 AM
  3. Panasonic 3 phase driver running on 1 phase?
    By gavztheouch in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 11:21 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-01-2012, 09:29 PM
  5. phase converters
    By tommy2630 in forum Milling Machines, Builds & Conversions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-12-2011, 04:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •