. .
    Hi all, I'm a fairly experienced woodworker but brand new to cnc machining. I had hoped I would buy a machine plug in my pc and be churning out woden signs and dog tags etc. Having done a little research I am now terrified of making a mistake and either spending too little and buying rubbish or spending too much on a machine more advanced that my needs require. What I would like to engrave or carve is wooden signs and acrylic/metal labels probably no bigger than 600x400 and if possible it should be a desktop machine. I hope someone can point me in the right direction and give me some good advice.

Is there anyone in Scotland using a cnc similar to what I've described who would consider letting me have a look at their setup. I think I need some hands on advice.

Hi Jiroma,
    I am also new by taking the leap back in November but have stumbled at the first hurdle, I brought a cnc machine before discovering this site so your already made the first step safely by getting expert advice via here (not me but a lot of others on here)
    I can only advise caution I brought what seemed to be a good deal the CNC 6040 machine (60cm by 40cm table size) from Germany for £880.
    The CNC 6040, 3040 range are made in China and have a reputation for shoddy software or electrical parts, I found this out after I brought mine.
    My machine has had issues and I have yet to use it since purchasing back in November and after a lot of questioning on here and testing my main panic was settled (my machine sounded as if it had a mechanical fault) however I have narrowed it down to an electrical board so cheapish to replace but its been a lot of hassle.
    When I searched on Youtube I found this was a common issue with them as China have different standards for electrical compliances so although it all looks nice and neat there are a few issues you need to sort out such as cable shielding, cheap components and everything crammed in a nice little box.