. .
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    I have a Bridgeport Series 1 milling machine, which I am in the process of converting to CNC - I'm looking to a 4 axis setup.
    For the moment I am using 1600oz inch steppers, eventually I'll change to something like Technic Clearpath, with shaft encoders.
    I have some experience with Anilam, Fanuc and XYZ Prototrak controls so I have some ideas about what I want from a controller.

My PC of choice is a Dell Optiplex 755 with parallel port, ethernet and USB ports.
    I have tried a few controllers with varying degrees of success...

First Controller - Mach3 using a Chinese parallel port BOB.

Not great with my setup - not accurate losing steps etc, despite hours of research and motor tuning.
    Deciding it was probably the BOB/parallel port, I gave up

Second Controller "Masso"

This worked well but did not support the full range of codes - no G40/G41/G42 looks at present to be more suited to router applications the milling. Excellent support from the company, but decided it's not for me.

Third Arduino with GRBL 1.1 and the latest UGS software.

It works really well, supports most Codes (does not like tool change T1M6, throws up an error message), but positions accurately and motor tuning is a breeze. For me this is the best so far.

However I'd like to use a controller which supports 4 axis, has a professional looking interface, and doesn't cost the earth.
    I came across the Centroid Acorn Controller at under $300.
    The software has the same look and it seems, most of the functionality of Centroid's industrial controllers.

I have one on order, but would be grateful for input from anyone who has experience of the unit.

There is no dealer selling the in the UK, but I am in touch with a Centroid agent in France who can supply at a sensible price.
    Thank you!

Here's a link to Centroid.com for anyone who is interested.
    http://www.centroidcnc.com