Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
  1. #11
    "No I never used an earth, the plug has 4 connectors and one of them is left empty (No 4) "
    That sounds good and correct.
    Pin 1 Phase 1
    Pin 2 Phase 2
    Pin 3 Phase 3
    Pin 4 Not Connected

    The spindle needs checking out as cropwell explained.
    Regarding parameters I would change these.(when you get the new vfd)

    PD014 acceleration time, 1 second is too short in my view, 5 seconds sounds better especially in the early stages of setting up.
    PD015 decceleration time, same as above set to 5
    PD142 motor rated current, set this to current specified for the spindle, I looked at some and the correct figure seems to be 8.5
    PD143 motor poles, I don't know myself how many poles these spindles have but if people are using a value of 2 then it seems reasonable.
    PD001 set this to 0 if you are using the keypad controls.

    I'm wondering if you have reversed the motor several times without realising it from the front panel buttons, with ramp times of 1 second this may have caused some damage.
    As you say, a short at the spindle end would not do the vfd much good.
    Last edited by EddyCurrent; 24-12-2017 at 02:26 PM.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to EddyCurrent For This Useful Post:


  3. #12
    Also check this;

    PD026 stopping mode, it should be set to 0 (decceleration stop)

    Just to help things along in future, I would always let the spindle come to a standstill before pressing RUN again.
    Last edited by EddyCurrent; 24-12-2017 at 02:45 PM.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to EddyCurrent For This Useful Post:


  5. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Lodds View Post
    No I never used an earth, the plug has 4 connectors and one of them is left empty (No 4)

    My soldering is the best in the world and I'm wondering if there was a short in the plug on the spindle. I didn't see anything when I took it apart could that have caused the damage if it had shorted?
    A good photo of the wiring and spindle plug would help, was the plug connected securely as a loose connection can be bad for the vfd.

    I take it you meant (not the best) as a dry joint could also cause problems.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  6. #14
    Don't mess with it, return it as faulty!
    A decent VFD will detect an incorrect load, be it short or one or more disconnected phase (some detect open circuit but not all) and simply refuse to drive it with an appropriate error code rather than emit Magic Smoke!.
    You shouldn't be able to bugger a VFD even by shorting the output, it should detect current overload, shut down and give you a meaningful error.
    It's a bad 'un, send it back and buy something decent!
    Regards,
    Nick
    You think that's too expensive? You're not a Model Engineer are you? :D

  7. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    was the plug connected securely as a loose connection can be bad for the vfd.

    I take it you meant (not the best) as a dry joint could also cause problems.
    To be honest I think it was a bit of both. I have placed an order for a new VFD and spindle, and have ordered 2 additional plugs so I can get the soldering right on my next attempt.

    You guys are the best, thanks for all your help and not being judgemental. Merry Christmas to you all.

  8. #16
    Just wired up the new VFD and changed the programming as before.

    When I press "Run|" the spindle turns for about 2sec then I get an E.ora message and the spindle stops, any ideas? Seems I have been here before.

  9. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Lodds View Post
    Just wired up the new VFD and changed the programming as before.

    When I press "Run|" the spindle turns for about 2sec then I get an E.ora message and the spindle stops, any ideas? Seems I have been here before.
    Are you using the same spindle? Have you rewired the Plug on the spindle. What parameters have you changed?

    Which vfd did you get as there are a few types? Pictures would help.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:


  11. #18
    Hi Clive,
    Thanks for the response.

    I'm using the new spindle.

    I have now got it working without error. I changed back some of the settings I had changed earlier. now it runs full pelt without error.

    Just to to understand now how to display RPM and how to drop the speed?

    Thanks
    Tony

  12. #19

  13. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Lodds View Post
    Hi Clive,
    Thanks for the response.

    I'm using the new spindle.

    I have now got it working without error. I changed back some of the settings I had changed earlier. now it runs full pelt without error.

    Just to to understand now how to display RPM and how to drop the speed?

    Thanks
    Tony
    Tony Just because it is running at full pelt does not mean it is correct! So I would go through the setting carefully to make sure they are correct. It is impossible to help with the parameters without knowing what you have set them to.

    You don't want a repeat of what happened before
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VFD Has defantly blown up now!
    By charlieuk in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 30-08-2017, 01:45 PM
  2. How to connect 2.2KW Inverter VFD?
    By Tenson in forum Spindles & Drive Motors
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-01-2017, 12:10 PM
  3. 2.2KW 3HP Inverter help
    By adamh in forum Spindles & Drive Motors
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 31-07-2015, 08:21 AM
  4. WANTED: Electrical Box for inverter
    By badgerman in forum Items Wanted
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-09-2013, 10:08 PM
  5. Teco inverter
    By Ronaldo9 in forum Spindles & Drive Motors
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20-01-2013, 12:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •