. .
    Good day

Sorry in advance if this is a thread that pops up regularly?! I'm fairly new to CNC and Forums for that matter (Hi!)

I'm running my first flat pack carcassing project in 18mm melamine faced chipboard on my machine soon and am just after a little advice....

I've got a 7.5kw spindle capable of running a top speed of 24000rpm
    I'll be using an onsrud 1/2'' compression cutter.

I have done some test runs in material at general manufacturers guide line feed and speed rates with varying success - I understand there is always an element of trial and error but I always seem to get break out on the upper face of the melamine.

I now understand that the first portion of the cutter is up-cutting so that needs to plunge and cut past the top layer of melamine.

What I have no real idea of is how fewer passes I can get away with and perhaps this is ultimately why the compression cutter wasn't getting the results I require?

Can I cut 18mm in one?
    Or is it best to do say 1 pass with an offset and then final pass cut profile to desired dimensions.

Sorry I know this is perhaps basic stuff to many.....I'm teaching myself as much as I can?!
    I appreciate any help and give thanks in advance
    cheers
    Nick

It will work in any way you use it, but it's really meant for 1 full cut into material. Its a trickier cutter to use and IMHO a finishing pass is needed for any hard part /melamine layer in that case/ whatever the cutter. I know that from cutting phenolic sheets with melamine layers both sides. It is very challenging to obtain a perfect not chipped edge.

Here is a discussion between people doing this all day which confirms what i say http://www.woodweb.com/cgi-bin/forum...pl?read=772857
    Last edited by Boyan Silyavski; 15-01-2018 at 06:04 AM. Reason: grammar
    project 1 , 2, Dust Shoe ...

Quote Originally Posted by Boyan Silyavski View Post