Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Ger21 View Post
    I'm also a little curious about Mach4, but I'm not even going to ask.....
    Actually think I'll do that if I can find the strength or Will to make the bloody thing work.!!

  2. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by routercnc View Post
    Hi Dean

    Sounds like a great idea for a video !

    Do you have a system you can dig out of the skip using a generic breakout board on a parallel port? Would be good entertainment to see it perform when the TIG fires up next door! I guess they've long gone to landfill but had to ask.

    Thanks
    Ye sure I've got PC kicking around that could try that with PP and Basic BOB. . . . Forget Tig bloody radio will kill a PP & cheap BOB if wind's blowing in right direction. . . Esp if playing Radio1 . . .Lol

  3. #13
    only frightened of the unknown

  4. #14
    Chaz's Avatar
    Lives in Ickenham, West London, United Kingdom. Current Activity: Viewing Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 1,186. Received thanks 85 times, giving thanks to others 54 times.
    Im now running Centroid Acorn on my lathe - so happy to provide any feedback / experience based on this if it helps. Fairly familiar with Mach 3 and a few of the controllers listed above.

  5. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by audioandy View Post
    only frightened of the unknown
    Bloody hell it surfaces from the deep...

  6. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by JAZZCNC View Post
    Bloody hell it surfaces from the deep...
    Making a comeback Dean,got to use some of the accumulated bits in my garage. Good to see you are still keeping the forum in check

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

  7. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by audioandy View Post
    Making a comeback Dean,got to use some of the accumulated bits in my garage. Good to see you are still keeping the forum in check

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
    About bloody time not good for man sat around playing with them pussy's all day..

  8. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by JAZZCNC View Post
    About bloody time not good for man sat around playing with them pussy's all day..


    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

  9. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Chaz View Post
    Im now running Centroid Acorn on my lathe - so happy to provide any feedback / experience based on this if it helps.
    Chaz,

    Now you have been using Acorn a while any advice / feedback on it's setting up and use, I am interested how you find it as I have just ordered one.
    I have an Orac cnc lathe that I want to convert to use with the Acorn.

    Phill

  10. #20
    Chaz's Avatar
    Lives in Ickenham, West London, United Kingdom. Current Activity: Viewing Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 1,186. Received thanks 85 times, giving thanks to others 54 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by phill05 View Post
    Chaz,

    Now you have been using Acorn a while any advice / feedback on it's setting up and use, I am interested how you find it as I have just ordered one.
    I have an Orac cnc lathe that I want to convert to use with the Acorn.

    Phill
    Hi Phill,

    Ive not done a lot with it as yet as Ive had to solve some other issues.

    The platform is good and stable. Inherently more so than Mach which solves many issues. Support however is good and its based on a known established 'standard'.

    I needed to forget about Mach as you cannot always apply the same thinking (steps / mm etc). Its a different approach, but certainly not impossible. Ive done a lathe, Ill do my next machine with Acorn too and perhaps one day convert my Thor, but Ive invested heavily and the wiring / servos only work on CS Labs.

    One thing, get a decent PC for Acorn. They recommend following a certain spec with Win 10. I had other machines (spec was too low) and I had a spindle issue. We couldnt point it to the low spec machines, but could be.

    Ive managed to get my ATC to work, took some effort.

    The PLC is powerful but you need to understand their code and/or get help.

    Depending on how complex you need to do, it can handle it. Its a pity its only 4 axis and certainly more inputs / outputs would be nice but things can be done via their PLC logic.

    I bought on a Sunday night, received Wednesday. You will be nailed import cost but its not bad in reality (they did a recent price drop when they sold 1000 units).

    Certainly recommended. The touchscreen implementation is great, so expect to need one of them too.

    Chaz

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Chaz For This Useful Post:


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Comparison between mechanical designs of cnc machines
    By ammaratef45 in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-07-2016, 09:48 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19-02-2014, 11:15 PM
  3. SBR v TBR - Comparison
    By Karl in forum Rails, Guideways & Bearings
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-05-2012, 11:02 AM
  4. Breakout Board Comparison
    By 200thhorseman in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-03-2012, 11:28 PM
  5. Controller Box
    By M250cnc in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-11-2010, 12:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •