. .
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Hi all :)
    My name is Graham and I'm new to all things cnc,got a 3d printer I built from a kit though so cnc on a very small scale then!
    I'm starting a build based on plans I bought from Joescnc website- now I know not everyone will like or agree with the build materials and I definitely would like to spend a lot more on the build .... the wife says no!
    So in the whole it will come from the plans but I'm hoping maybe there will be some input along the way as well.
    As I said it's based on plans that once bought gives access to the builders forum and has approx. 250 machines built or being constructed all based off of the plans- giving dxf files/templates for cutting various parts etc.
    The plans suggest a welded steel box frame base ,but as I don't weld I opted for a timber base.
    Constructed out of structural 18mm ply ready to take the aluminium rails when they arrive.
    so a few pictures of things so far then...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180225_110208_resized.jpg 
Views:	533 
Size:	166.6 KB 
ID:	23928Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180225_144345_resized.jpg 
Views:	516 
Size:	181.3 KB 
ID:	23929Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180225_153950_resized.jpg 
Views:	469 
Size:	136.9 KB 
ID:	23930Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180225_154353_resized.jpg 
Views:	507 
Size:	146.7 KB 
ID:	23931Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180225_154409_resized.jpg 
Views:	535 
Size:	186.9 KB 
ID:	23932
    As you can see I doubled up on the ply thickness and the box section rails really improved the stability and strength.

Name:	20180225_154517_resized.jpg 
Views:	546 
Size:	196.5 KB 
ID:	23933
    The rails fit together like mortice and tenon joints, the long sides are glued to the legs.

Name:	20180225_161831_resized.jpg 
Views:	519 
Size:	187.2 KB 
ID:	23934
    The side rails are 10ft long so I extended them on opposite sides at the ends.
    The width is 5ft.