. .

Thread: Tb6600?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hello!
    I've had some discussion on what kind of a driver to get and I've been recommended several. It was the debate between the dq542ma, and digital drivers such as the am882 and EM806.
    I must say, I've become a lot more educated on the analog and digital driver's. But I'm a highschool student and I can't spend much on a hobby (not yet at least). I hate to sound cheap but is there anything less expensive, and relatively good (meaning it works) for hobby purposes?
    I've been looking at tb6600 drivers on eBay and they can get pretty cheap. I've even seen quite consistent good reviews on some.
    I'd love to advance to try out the previously mentioned drivers in the future, but they are a bit expensive for me currently. I'm always open to suggestions though too.

( I'm using a 3 axis cnc router with 3amp nema 23's and I was going to buy a uc300eth with some breakout boards) let me know if there's any other info necessary and relevant.

Thanks so much!!!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by jtar40; 19-04-2018 at 10:55 PM.

So, it's a hobby. Why not buy a single driver and have a play on one axis on the machine - get to understand the driver and realise if it's suited to your needs. The benefit of the TB6600 (and similar) can only be price - so other replies will extoll the virtues of other drives, but you've listed cost as a key discriminator here. I have TB6600s, and I've modified them to make them work reliably. They do work, for me, for a hobby machine. I will replace them on my next machine as I update the PSU, but that's a different story.

Beware of misrepresentation - I've bought drivers claiming to be TB6600s (identified as 42V, 4A drivers) which were actually based on a Toshiba TB67S109AFTG chip - similar, but lower spec to the TB6600 - I had these working briefly but never reliably (lost steps, etc) - but I never investigated why.