. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi all

first i would like to say hello and that i am total beginner and me being me i have opted to buy a used AXYZ 4008 YOM 2000, hey go big or go home i say..

Anyway after trying to get information from AXYZ about updating the software they just send stupid links to software and answer the question i am asking... which is.

can i just update the pc and buy new software without having to update anything on the machine (AMC) and also could i just buy the USB to RS485 converter off amazon instead of there seriously over priced version (£358 cough cough)

the machine is running the old version of toolpath and what other options do i have to update to??

many thanks in advance
    chris

What issues are you encountering and what would you like a solution to allow you to achieve.
    I ask these questions because you have not mentioned machine virtualisation or RS 485 PCIE cards.
    You think that's too expensive? You're not a Model Engineer are you? :D

Hi.
    I am finding the software to old for me to use and also I am not sure how long this pc will last ( 18 Years old already) so easier to replace and update all at the same time.

Now AXYZ do there USB to RS485 BUT they want £357 for it so could I just use one from eBay or Amazon or use a serial PCIE card in new pc?

Thank
    Chris

Why do you think the software is too old?I have had the experience of recommissioning an AXYZ 6010 with the horrible Toolpath software and as long as we kept to XP there was never a problem with the actual software.The problem was that the age of the software limited the system to the use of file names with no more than eight characters (obviously it pre-dated Windows 95!) but in practice the machine did what we needed.Rather than throwing money at an upgrade,why not just get on with cutting some parts to see how you get on?