. .
    Hi all

Well I've been hanging around here on and off for a few years and have finall took the plunge and purchased a kit of new second hand parts off eBay.

A bit about me, for 26 years I was a multi skilled machinist, fitter, welder, mig, tig, mma, did also rats general purpose maintenance machine shop.

Unfortunately been out of the game for 10 years or so.
    No more access to machines or kit, this would be so easy then lol, anyway I'll be making this machine mostly out of steel to start with, the gantry sides might be replaces with Ali ones once completed.

I intend driving the x axis via 2 nema 23s one on each side

Mechanically wise I feel confident in building a strong well engineered machine.

Electrically I think I'll need a lot of advice, not really my strong point, I'm sure I'll have lots of questions and hopefully some replies,

Now I've got to start sorting steel out ,

one immediate question which is recommended, to mount the motors direct via a flexible coupling or have them t5 belt driven to the ball screws ?

Here's a list of what I bought of eBay, I know I need a power supply, any suggestions ?

All of the parts are new second hand as never been used and were supplied originally by cnc4you

I will be building the machine around the dimensions of the parts, not too sure of its purpose yet but I will want to machine aluminium definitely.

Anyway here's the parts list

HGR20 20mm square rail 1500mm 2 pieces

HGR20 20mm square rail 1000mm 2 pieces

HGR20 20mm square rail 300mm 1 piece

HGR20 20mm square rail 296mm 1 piece

Hiwin HGH20 square carriage 12 pieces

RM1605-C7 Ballscrew with anti-backlash ballnut 1200mm (total length 1262mm inc shafts) 2 pieces

RM1605-C7 Ballscrew with anti-backlash ballnut 900mm (total length 962mm inc shafts) 1 piece

RM1605-C7 Ballscrew with anti-backlash ballnut 300mm (total length 362mm inc shafts) 1 piece

BF12 TMT ballscrew bearing and support 4 pieces

BK12 TMT ballscrew bearing and support 4 pieces