. .
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hi all,

I am new to CNC but I have always been interested in machining.
    Last week I got a 3040 DQ with usb and thought it would be ok for a start but am a little annoyed to find basic problems.
    The instructions are not clear and are in broken English, the left hand linear bearing was fitted the wrong way around, and when moving on the y axis quite noisy the grease nipple had made a nasty groove along the inside of the left rail.
    I have removed the nipple just to carry out some test runs and found a problem with the x axis this is not accurate and very noisy especially when changing direction.
    I have swapped the x and y connections over on the controller and the problem moves to the y axis, the x axis is then smooth.
    From my basic knowledge it seems to be a stepper controller or a software issue, can anyone advise.

Many thanks

Len

Have you checked the microstep settings for the drivers. Really we need more detail to help. Photos would be good.
    Last edited by cropwell; 12-09-2018 at 06:35 PM.

Thanks for the reply,
    Sorry for the lack of info but I didn’t know what you might need.
    I’m using the program that came with the machine which is CNC USB, I think it’s part of Planet CNC perhaps not ideal but I am using a laptop with a USB ports only and no D25 printer port.
    My x y and z axis are set at 400.000 steps per unit the initial speed is set at 100.00 and the acceleration is set at 15.000
    The feed speed is 250.00 and the Traverse is at 500.00
    I have checked the movement on all three axis with a digital DTI and the y and z are both repeatedly correct and nice and smooth and quite.
    But the z drive is clunky and noisy and not accurate if you set 10.0000 mm you may get 11.89 or 11.08 it’s different on each run.
    I hope this is of help.

Many thanks Len.