Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. Enthusiastic with CNC stuff but a proper novice so be gentle
    My build blog:
    Chinese 3020t Build

  2. #12
    That link doesn't work for me Ravi?

  3. Quote Originally Posted by AndyGuid View Post
    That link doesn't work for me Ravi?
    https://www.youtube.com/edit?ar=1&o=...id=PwqoYwrSU40
    Enthusiastic with CNC stuff but a proper novice so be gentle
    My build blog:
    Chinese 3020t Build

  4. just realised that link is the same lol, will double check its a public vid :-)
    Enthusiastic with CNC stuff but a proper novice so be gentle
    My build blog:
    Chinese 3020t Build

  5. Enthusiastic with CNC stuff but a proper novice so be gentle
    My build blog:
    Chinese 3020t Build

  6. #16
    Hi Ravi
    Sorry for not replying sooner but have been busy machining parts for my gas turbine.
    I see you have carried out some serious mods to your machine and I am pleased you have got it working.
    I have downloaded Mach 3 and connected it with a parellel port, the only problem I have now is the emergency stop wonít let me do any machining as it comes up with emergency mode active when I connect to the CNC controller.
    The only reason for using Mach 3 is I have an old boxford TCL 125 lathe and a
    Wizzard 2000 st engraving machine to hopefully get working and I would use the Mach software for all three machines.

    If I donít get any luck with the software Iíll ask the question on the forum.

    Many thanks Len.

  7. Quote Originally Posted by Lennewton View Post
    Hi all,

    I am new to CNC but I have always been interested in machining.
    Last week I got a 3040 DQ with usb and thought it would be ok for a start but am a little annoyed to find basic problems.
    The instructions are not clear and are in broken English, the left hand linear bearing was fitted the wrong way around, and when moving on the y axis quite noisy the grease nipple had made a nasty groove along the inside of the left rail.
    I have removed the nipple just to carry out some test runs and found a problem with the x axis this is not accurate and very noisy especially when changing direction.
    I have swapped the x and y connections over on the controller and the problem moves to the y axis, the x axis is then smooth.
    From my basic knowledge it seems to be a stepper controller or a software issue, can anyone advise.

    Many thanks

    Len
    Please see the axis configuration for Mach3 . I share my dropbox folder where you can find the manual I used for configuring the 3040 cnc.
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mae2sb1cf...XGBEXauja?dl=0

  8. #18
    Hi Voltatek,
    Thanks for the help, and I have tried using Mach3 with a parallel port connection.
    All I get is as soon as I switch the machine on all three motors lock up and the program runs as can be seen on the Mach3 display but no movement on the X,Y or Z.
    So I have tried a newer computer using a USB connector, this seems to have fixed my original fault.
    Many thanks Len.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27-09-2017, 12:32 PM
  2. NEW MEMBER: Need Help with my new CNC 3040 Machine.
    By SMG11 in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27-09-2017, 12:14 AM
  3. NEW MEMBER: Newbie with 3040 machine
    By Rwoolley in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21-05-2017, 10:37 PM
  4. 3040 machine - Which axis has the flexible couplings?
    By DaveMorris in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30-09-2015, 08:42 AM
  5. cnc 3040 and mach3 problems
    By hoggy in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-10-2014, 10:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •