1. #1
    Hi there,

    An interesting issue appeared yesterday on my new build gantry router cnc. Its been running fine for a few weeks however yesterday as I was running gcode the machine would momentarily halt on random passes and then resume with the what appeared no loss of steps? It was happening in every type of process, I noticed it being worse however when the machine was under heaver load going through solid hardwood. Iíve never seem this before and wondered where I should start to look for the cause. It was like the machine was waiting to catch up with itself or self diagnose, not good though. Iíve got mach 3 set to a kernel speed 35.000Hz. I ran the mach3 driver test and it said it was in excellent health, no spikes.

    Any ideas about where to start first to diagnose?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Ger21's Avatar
    Lives in Detroit, United States. Last Activity: 13 Hours Ago Has been a member for 6-7 years. Has a total post count of 616. Received thanks 85 times, giving thanks to others 0 times. Referred 1 members to the community.
    Open Windows Task Manager and monitor CPU usage while it's running.
    See if the CPU usage spikes when the machine hesitates.
    Gerry
    ______________________________________________
    UCCNC 2017 Screenset

    Mach3 2010 Screenset

    JointCAM - CAM for Woodworking Joints

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Ger21 For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Ger21 View Post
    Open Windows Task Manager and monitor CPU usage while it's running.
    See if the CPU usage spikes when the machine hesitates.
    Thanks Gerry,

    Good advice. I ran a file which went on for an hour or so and watched the CPU usage and of course not a squeak wrong with it haha. Typical

    i'll keep the CPU usage up though to monitor incase and indeed when it returns, becasue we know it will

  5. #4
    m_c's Avatar
    Lives in East Lothian, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 1 Day Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 2,193. Received thanks 243 times, giving thanks to others 5 times.
    You hadn't inadvertently enabled exact stop (G61) mode?

    And was the G-code code you have run before without problems?
    Avoiding the rubbish customer service from AluminiumWarehouse since July '13.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to m_c For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Same G-code which I'd run before without problems. Good thought about the G61, hmm well anythings possible. I'll have a look today.

  8. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Ger21 View Post
    Open Windows Task Manager and monitor CPU usage while it's running.
    See if the CPU usage spikes when the machine hesitates.
    Not had a repeat of the halting Gerry but I have noticed that between running files if I jog away to change tools and re-zero that can generate an error where half way through a 10min roughing job will suddenly make one axis move about 50% outside the job perimeter and continue.
    I think this happens specifically on a job where I have to re-zero it more than once on the same job to the same coordinated. Most strange! I've not had cpu usage up and running when this happened but can do incase it identifies anything.

  9. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by marbles View Post
    Not had a repeat of the halting Gerry but I have noticed that between running files if I jog away to change tools and re-zero that can generate an error where half way through a 10min roughing job will suddenly make one axis move about 50% outside the job perimeter and continue.
    I think this happens specifically on a job where I have to re-zero it more than once on the same job to the same coordinated. Most strange! I've not had cpu usage up and running when this happened but can do incase it identifies anything.
    Are you using an external motion controller? Mach3? Which version? I ask because there are some known problems with at least the CSMIO controllers and certain versions of Mach3 that can give some funny problems like this.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Neale For This Useful Post:


  11. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Neale View Post
    Are you using an external motion controller? Mach3? Which version? I ask because there are some known problems with at least the CSMIO controllers and certain versions of Mach3 that can give some funny problems like this.
    Indeed yes I do use an external motion controller. A wireless xbox controller (copy), which has indeed been inconsistent espec when the battery is low.

    Perhaps linked to this zeroing problem
    Last edited by marbles; 3 Weeks Ago at 11:20 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14-02-2018, 12:45 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27-09-2017, 12:32 PM
  3. Tooling, Pass Type and Production method for Composite Hydrofoil
    By dachopper in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16-03-2017, 04:59 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18-09-2013, 05:28 AM
  5. Never simple is it! Mach, machine halts
    By Shinobiwan in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 31-01-2013, 07:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •