Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    you may need a new psu to meet the spec of the new spindle

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andy_con For This Useful Post:


  3. #12
    cropwell's Avatar
    Lives in Nottingham, United Kingdom. Current Activity: Viewing BUILD LOG: Luthier CNC Has been a member for 7-8 years. Has a total post count of 1,222. Received thanks 169 times, giving thanks to others 24 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by ngwagwa View Post
    Thanks, so which spindle should I be looking at bearing in mind it is for finishing only so RPM is more important than power.
    I can't recommend any spindles as I do not know the run-outs of any. I would reckon a 2.2KW spindle and VFD kit would probably do, but it sounds as though you would want quality rather than cheap Chinese.
    Albert Einstein may have been a genius, but his brother Frank, was a monster

    Having just moved to Windows 10 (which is crap) My stress levels are through the roof !!!

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cropwell For This Useful Post:


  5. #13
    I probably can't afford quality so would settle for Chinese.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ngwagwa For This Useful Post:


  7. #14
    Doddy's Avatar
    Lives in Preston, United Kingdom. Current Activity: Viewing BUILD LOG: Luthier CNC Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 369. Received thanks 87 times, giving thanks to others 10 times.
    Have you seen this? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfryQr10nbo - someone has added a 1.5kW spindle to a micro router.

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Doddy For This Useful Post:


  9. #15
    Thanks for that it's ust what I am aiming at.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ngwagwa For This Useful Post:


  11. #16
    Just a quick update to let you all know the outcome.

    I ended up buying a serial to RS-485 adapter (less than £3 on fleabay) and downloaded a plugin to ebable Mach3 to control my spindle directly.

    The new spindle is fitted and running and I was originally using a 5 gallon drum for a water reservoir but this didn't stop the temperature hitting the mid forties centigrade during the hot Easter weekend. I have to point out my workshop is upstairs and the room temperature was in the low thirties. As downstairs is always a lot cooler and having plenty of plastic pipe to hand I simply added about 15 metres of pipe to the outet and ran this downstairs then bak to the tank which solved the cooling problem.

  12. #17
    Finally have the time to cut a job for which the spindle was purchased.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Help required with mill conversion / upgrade.
    By swarf-boy in forum Milling Machines, Builds & Conversions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 11:33 AM
  2. Upgrade to x axis required. MG or HG rail
    By marbles in forum Rails, Guideways & Bearings
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2017, 12:51 PM
  3. Roland camm 2 pnc 2300 spindle upgrade help
    By iampete in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2014, 02:17 PM
  4. Kress Spindle upgrade to a 2kw
    By Metal pecker in forum Kress Milling Motors
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2014, 11:22 AM
  5. advice on upgrade to 5 axis control
    By alanb in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27-07-2012, 05:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •