. .
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    you may need a new psu to meet the spec of the new spindle

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to andy_con For This Useful Post:


  3. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by ngwagwa View Post
    Thanks, so which spindle should I be looking at bearing in mind it is for finishing only so RPM is more important than power.
    I can't recommend any spindles as I do not know the run-outs of any. I would reckon a 2.2KW spindle and VFD kit would probably do, but it sounds as though you would want quality rather than cheap Chinese.
    A DEAD (in a ditch) STATESMAN
    I could not dig: I dared not rob:
    Therefore I lied to please the mob.
    Now all my lies are proved untrue
    And I must face the men I slew.
    What tale shall serve me here among
    Mine angry and defrauded young?
    from EPITAPHS OF BREXIT 2016 - ????

    Thanks to ― Rudyard Kipling 1865 - 1936

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to cropwell For This Useful Post:


  5. #13
    I probably can't afford quality so would settle for Chinese.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to ngwagwa For This Useful Post:


  7. #14
    Doddy's Avatar
    Lives in Preston, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 12 Hours Ago Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 498. Received thanks 84 times, giving thanks to others 19 times.
    Have you seen this? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfryQr10nbo - someone has added a 1.5kW spindle to a micro router.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Doddy For This Useful Post:


  9. #15
    Thanks for that it's ust what I am aiming at.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ngwagwa For This Useful Post:


  11. #16
    Just a quick update to let you all know the outcome.

    I ended up buying a serial to RS-485 adapter (less than 3 on fleabay) and downloaded a plugin to ebable Mach3 to control my spindle directly.

    The new spindle is fitted and running and I was originally using a 5 gallon drum for a water reservoir but this didn't stop the temperature hitting the mid forties centigrade during the hot Easter weekend. I have to point out my workshop is upstairs and the room temperature was in the low thirties. As downstairs is always a lot cooler and having plenty of plastic pipe to hand I simply added about 15 metres of pipe to the outet and ran this downstairs then bak to the tank which solved the cooling problem.

  12. #17
    Finally have the time to cut a job for which the spindle was purchased.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help required with mill conversion / upgrade.
    By swarf-boy in forum Milling Machines, Builds & Conversions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 11:33 AM
  2. Upgrade to x axis required. MG or HG rail
    By marbles in forum Rails, Guideways & Bearings
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2017, 12:51 PM
  3. Roland camm 2 pnc 2300 spindle upgrade help
    By iampete in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2014, 02:17 PM
  4. Kress Spindle upgrade to a 2kw
    By Metal pecker in forum Kress Milling Motors
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2014, 11:22 AM
  5. advice on upgrade to 5 axis control
    By alanb in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27-07-2012, 05:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •