. .
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    I’ve spent a lot of time lurking on this great forum and planing my next machine. I’ve finally accepted the extent of my ignorance and am now totally in a state of decision paralysis - please help!!

I am an electric guitar luthier and for a few years I have used a small and crappy chinese 3018 CNC for inlay work and fretboard carving. Its been a trial but I have learnt a lot. I’m pretty skilled with using both handheld and tablemounted routers and working with wood in general. I also have a software and electronics background, reasonable mechanical savvy but little no metalworking experience.

I’ve decided to take the plunge into using CNC to carve full guitar bodies and necks. I will need a working area of at least 900 x 400 mm to achieve this - whilst bigger would certainly be more flexible (e.g. for occasional bass guitars necks and neck-throughs) I think keeping it smaller is better - for size and weight constraints. In the rare case I need to, I’m happy to tile the work.

Here are some of my initial thoughts which I’d really appreciate a sanity check on:

1) My feeling is that for reasonably large hardwood pieces I need to ensure a high feedrate is possible - at least 5000mm/min if not 10000. Accuracy is important but I think not as critical as for you metalworking guys - my feeling from my handbuilt guitars is that 0.1mm accuracy is totally sufficient. Is my thinking on the right track?