. .
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    Yes my bad
    No problem, i appreciate the help :)

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

  2. #12
    Question for anyone that knows, i have now bought a contactor to control the 240v side or the toroidal power supply. The coil is 24v and it is wired up and functioning but it seems to get very hot! I have disconnected the 240v to verify its the coil side that is hot and it is so my question is whether this is normal? I first noticed it when I smelt it!

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

  3. #13
    It should not run that hot
    double check your not connecting 24V DC to a 24V AC coil !

    which contactor do you have ?

    John

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to john swift For This Useful Post:


  5. #14
    I didn't even think you'd get a a 24v a.c. coil! Hmm...mayve it is now that I've had another look, it says 24v 50hz. :(

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

  6. #15
    Yes I have seen that before. 😡
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  7. #16
    The resistance of a 24V AC coil is too low to limit the current to a safe level when its connect to 24V DC

    Connecting a DC coil to AC will reduce the current and may not pull in the contactor
    and the eddy currents in the magnetic core heat the core
    (usually laminated cores for AC & solid for DC)

    Its a few year ago I last bought contactors from RS conponents

    The klockner moeller contactors I bought had 48V dc coils ,
    I clipped 2 contactors onto a mechanical interlock for 3 phase motor direction control
    (to make it impossible for both contactor to make a connection )

    From what I remember the coils available was
    24V DC , 48V DC , 24V AC , 48V AC , 110V AC , 240V AC or 420V AC

    John
    Last edited by john swift; 02-06-2019 at 10:21 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring Limit Switches, and can it be done with my control box?
    By ravihotwok in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-06-2017, 10:23 PM
  2. Wiring 3 wire proximity switches in series
    By mikem in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-05-2016, 08:33 AM
  3. Wiring limit switches
    By Janste in forum Spindles & Drive Motors
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-02-2015, 09:37 AM
  4. Wiring home and limit switches
    By Lee Roberts in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-12-2013, 08:11 PM
  5. Proximity Sensors as Limit Switches ?
    By Lee Roberts in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-10-2009, 06:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •