Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1
    Hi guys

    I should post more often but I've not had much opportunity to use my machine until very recently, and since last week I have been playing,

    Alas, I have a Denford mill. A micromill I think, not entirely sure to be honest, and it runs on Mach 3, v 1.8 something. Anyway, I thought it would be an idea to try for updates, so using my other pc I downloaded v3.something, chucked it on a flash drive and installed it on Machine pc..

    Unfortunately, due to my incompetence, I overwrote the previous version, and now I am left with a machine that I can't use because the newer version tells me dll files are missing, and other stuff, so now it doesn't actually do anything.

    Please help.
    RC
    Motorbikes
    Being chained to the bed
    Twatter: @CrazyLThirteen
    Insta: CrazyLThirteen

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Crazy L For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Crazy L View Post
    Hi guys

    I should post more often but I've not had much opportunity to use my machine until very recently, and since last week I have been playing,

    Alas, I have a Denford mill. A micromill I think, not entirely sure to be honest, and it runs on Mach 3, v 1.8 something. Anyway, I thought it would be an idea to try for updates, so using my other pc I downloaded v3.something, chucked it on a flash drive and installed it on Machine pc..

    Unfortunately, due to my incompetence, I overwrote the previous version, and now I am left with a machine that I can't use because the newer version tells me dll files are missing, and other stuff, so now it doesn't actually do anything.

    Please help.
    Oops.

    Oh well. Screenshots would be useful, but ultimately if Mach isn't installing the correct DLLs theres an issue. First off I'd try reinstalling after a reboot (if its trying to overwrite DLLs that are currently in use, it won't go well). Then I'd try downloading a few previous versions, it might be that the installer you picked is crap. You might have a restore point to go back to the old version which is worth a shot. After that I'd start thinking about trying a completely fresh Windows install.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to AndyUK For This Useful Post:


  5. #3
    Unless the version of Mach3 you are using has specific faults which are addressed in later versions, and the later version doesn't have additional faults that are more intrusive (Most after the company changed hands do) there is no good reason to update as after Art Fennerty sold the company software development went to RatShit.
    :D
    You think that's too expensive? You're not a Model Engineer are you? :D

  6. #4
    Huh. Good to know :)

    Is Mach4 worthwhile?

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to AndyUK For This Useful Post:


  8. #5
    My little 4-axis benchtop CNC mill runs Mach3 and works flawlessly, I can CAD/CAM a part and know it will come out spot on when I run the code, but I'm going with a DDSCVx.x stand alone controller for a larger mill conversion that's a WIP in my workshop.
    From my point of view they took so long bullshitting vapourware before they could knock out a barely functional version of Mach4 that the world has moved on and for hobby machines reasonably priced stand alone controllers are the way forward, options are now available from under 100, just add drivers, PSUs etc. but no PC of any flavour is required, and that's how it should be with a modern professionally engineered CNC controller.
    You think that's too expensive? You're not a Model Engineer are you? :D

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to magicniner For This Useful Post:


  10. #6
    Hey guys

    I went to fire up the mill PC today, and sweet FA. Nowt. it won't start, at all. My reckoning is that the hard drive is buggered. I only assume this as I put in an old drive I had kicking about from years ago (nothing dodgy on it by the way*) and it booted from that drive, so bios is ok. I swapped back over and nothing again. Monitor didn't even come on.

    So maybe the issue yesterday was from a fucked hard drive. I have a spare tower in the loft, but it has vista on it so will have to partition the drive and put XP on there, then pop in the PCI card. Then, I will install the version of Mach I downloaded and see how I get on. Won't be today though, but I will keep you posted.

    Magicniner, do you have a link/ or links for stand alone controllers I could peruse please?




    *unless you like music and pictures of fetish models
    Last edited by Crazy L; 28-04-2019 at 01:07 PM.
    RC
    Motorbikes
    Being chained to the bed
    Twatter: @CrazyLThirteen
    Insta: CrazyLThirteen

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Crazy L For This Useful Post:


  12. #7
    After I had a hard drive failure on my CNC machine and had to rebuild and reload software, which included getting licence details from Mach3 and others, I decided that the best next step was to backup all my Mach3 and other CNC program directories to my Home Cloud which is a 500Gb mirrored RAID in a NAS box. My CNC machine has the Internet Gateway disabled so it only access my home network.

    In deciding a backup strategy, you need to determine what you cannot replace, what you can repurchase or download and what you can afford to lose. Also you have to consider the time costs to rebuild.

    There is also another way to lower the chances of failure, and that is to have a RAID mirror as your main hard drive(s) in the CNC machine. I have a raid card in a redundant PC and that may be going into my CNC machine at the next HD failure.
    Mark Twain said that no amount of evidence will convince an idiot.!

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to cropwell For This Useful Post:


  14. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Crazy L View Post

    Magicniner, do you have a link/ or links for stand alone controllers I could peruse please?

    Just Google DDCSV CNC Controller (I got the letters wrong!)
    You think that's too expensive? You're not a Model Engineer are you? :D

  15. #9
    Thanks Magicniner, had a quick nosey the other day and they do look cool.

    Back to Topic though, I have a new (old tower with a working hard drive now and have just installed the pci card, and the version of mach that I downloaded. However, it would appear I am still missing he pci card driver, I know not what it is called etc so feel a bit stuck.
    RC
    Motorbikes
    Being chained to the bed
    Twatter: @CrazyLThirteen
    Insta: CrazyLThirteen

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to Crazy L For This Useful Post:


  17. #10
    Hi,

    Can you let me know what chip is on the PCI parallel port board and I will see if I can root out a driver for you. if it is a NetMos chip I will need the 4 digit chip which is something like 9825 or so. Let me warn you that these can be a bugger to install.
    Mark Twain said that no amount of evidence will convince an idiot.!

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to cropwell For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. BUILD LOG: Made of aluminum, Made for aluminum: Would love design critique!
    By gamingan in forum DIY Router Build Logs
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 27-06-2017, 10:33 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16-11-2013, 03:27 PM
  3. How to get the balls back in a ballnut?
    By Shinobiwan in forum Lead Screws, Nuts & Supports
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 24-03-2013, 03:35 PM
  4. Balls, balls and balls
    By Swarfing in forum Marketplace Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 21-03-2013, 07:45 PM
  5. Lost my balls!!!
    By danielbriggs in forum Lead Screws, Nuts & Supports
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 19-08-2010, 01:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •